Journal logo

"Snow White and the Seven Dorks"

Ode to my high school friends

By Chloe Rose Violet 🌹Published 2 months ago 3 min read
4
"Snow White and the Seven Dorks"
Photo by Joshua Hoehne on Unsplash

I tend to write about a lot of life experiences. A lot of them were high school. I had a lot of good memories of those times, some bad ones- actually who am I kidding, most of it was bad.

I'm not really friends with anyone that I went to high school with anymore. We all went our separate ways back in Grade 12. I still hold a great deal of love for my old friends though. I cried on my grad day because of how much I loved everyone- even though I wasn't graduating with everyone because I had dropped out due to anxiety and depression and a really bad influence from my boyfriend, I still loved every minute of being there.

We all used to sit together in an exclusive club. It was the nerd table- a table for misfits. Heaven forbid if anyone stole our table at lunchtime. I think there is some arbitory rule in high school once you sit somewhere at lunch, you're bound to stay there. The rest of the high school moved around as they seen fit, but our lowly band of nerds just clung to the same lunch table.

I was crowned "Queen of the Nerds" by a friend of mine back in the day because I used to date one guy. It was actually the guy that thought he made me throw up from kissing him. I wrote about that experience down below. All love though, he's a fantastic kisser.

I had a conversation with my partner a few days ago and I realized, they were not really my friends they were just people I went to high school with and ate lunch with. He basically said, "I was a teenage boy once myself, most of those guys were in love with you and wanted to try and get in your pants." I'm not gonna lie, that crushed me. I loved all of them- even the ones I didn't date. (Not saying I didn't try and date a couple of them) I thought I'd write an ode to all of them that hit on the ex-girlfriend of their so-called friend.

To the boy that watched me put on Skittles Lip Smackers and asked me to try and taste it, I hope you're doing well. I'm not gonna lie, that comment creeped me out. I enjoyed hanging out with you in your basement playing games with everyone. I still play Amnesia to this day because of you. So thank you.

To the boy that sung me If It Means A Lot To You by A Day to Remember, thank you. That is still one of my favourite bands and one of my favourite songs. I'm sorry your parents didn't like me, I truly was a delight. I don't understand why they hated me so much.

To the boy that wrote me a song and always took care of me when I was drunk- thank you. You were always a man that women could be safe with and I miss you to pieces. You defended my honor when a nasty girlfriend of mine said, "GirLs CaN't PlAy ViDeO gAmEs." I hope that you're loved always and happy.

To the friend of mine that I watched be hopelessly in love with one of my girlfriends. I hope you are okay. I worry about you and I know you have a great heart and great character. You're going to do amazing things with your life and I hope that you experience true love some day.

To the one that called me "A slut that just slits her wrists." I miss arguing with you. I wish you were still with us, and I'm sad that you are gone.

And to the boy I loved the most. You broke my heart back in high school. And I can't defend either of us in that situation. I just loved you. I hope you get her someday.

I carry pieces of all the people I ever loved. I am a mosaic of the ones I loved most.

I'm not perfect by any means. I just made a few mistakes with who I chose to be my friends back then. If I could go back and change who I was, I wouldn't because I believe that people are meant to meet for a reason. I am perfectly content for the first time in my life and I am proud of everyone that used to put up with me and my bipolar antics back in the high school era.

Chloe Rose Violet 🌹

featurehumanityCONTENT WARNING
4

About the Creator

Chloe Rose Violet 🌹

Writing from the heart about love, life, music, mental health, and everything else in between. 💀🥰

•Follow me on Threads @rosefearless

•Like my new Facebook page ROSEFEARLESS

Purchase my affirmation cards here!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Shirley Belk2 months ago

    I believe they were all supposed to be part of your beautiful mosaic! "I carry pieces of all the people I ever loved. I am a mosaic of the ones I loved most." Love this!

  • Dana Crandell2 months ago

    Ah, high school. I sat at the nerd table. And the football table. And the choir table. Never did find myself. lol This was a great read and a thoughtful tribute to those who helped make you, you.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.