Journal logo

Shine Editing Services

helping your Vocal stories shine!

By Caitlin McCollPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
18

Are you a Vocal+ member and do you write fiction? Are you planning on entering the new V+ Fiction challenge (or you just want to polish a story for entering into one of Vocal’s many fiction challenges)? If so, I can help you!

I am offering my editing services to Vocal+ members entering their Fiction pieces into challenges!

I’ve learned that no matter how good at self-editing you get, an author is always going to be too close to their story, and not objective enough to make the changes needed, or see the glaring plot holes or confusing bits (because to you they might not be confusing - you wrote it after all! But to readers, they could be like WT-?!). Especially if you’ve gone over your writing - and over, and over, ad nauseum - so much so that you’re ready to fling your novel manuscript off the roof of a tall building. So I have even used an editor for my own novels!

How do I edit?

Well first of all, all my edits are just suggestions. This is your story after all, and I try to keep your unique voice as much as possible.

The kind of editing I do is a combination of what’s called stylistic editing (aka line editing - fixing stuff line-by-line, like sentence structure, removing passive voice, word choice, tightening things up/suggesting better ways to word things etc.). And copy editing which is what most people think editing is - fixing punctuation/grammar/spelling. But it’s also about maintaining consistency throughout the story - which is where my comments in the margins often come in asking ‘should this happen here?’. Things like: ‘wasn’t your character just wearing jeans but now they’re wearing a skirt?’ or ‘how are they now in the desert when it was 3000 miles away and they left the cafe half an hour ago? How did they get there?’.

I edit with Track Changes in Google Docs. Not only will I edit within the actual document, fixing sentence structure and flow and punctuation (and any typos). I’ll also make comments in the margins when things need clarification or if I want to offer suggestions on word choice - how to make your writing stronger/punchier, more active and engaging.

How will this work?

Here’s how our interaction will go.

  1. You send me your story and I’ll copy/paste it into Google Docs and edit it via Track Changes.
  2. I’ll change the Share access to be able to share the link to the document with anyone on the internet (instead of restricted), and I then send you the link to your edited story.
  3. Then you go over the edits I’ve done (accepting or rejecting them as you see fit).
  4. Once you have a nice, fresh cleaned up copy (having a scan over it for words that might be joined together and separating them - which happens sometimes when stuff is removed in a document), you can move the clean copy to wherever you usually put your writing.
  5. Then you can let me know the new version is all safely saved and I’ll delete my version on my end from within my Google Docs (it saves my Google Docs from being cluttered up by tons of stories that aren’t mine!).

The big questions

Payment

Since I’m offering these services to Vocal members, you can easily pay me via Tips! My fee (for Vocal short stories) is $20US/piece, which is a very reasonable rate and well under the average for editing.

Note: If you’d like my services for something longer/larger than just a short story you’re writing for one of the challenges, you can contact me at the email address on the poster below and I can go into more detail.

Turnaround time

Now, a little caveat. Editing is not my full-time job, so please keep that in mind. But I'll aim to get your story back to you within 48-72 hours.

Vocal member testimonials

  • I can honestly say Caitlin is a joy to work with. Her advice is spot on and her suggestions are teachable moments. Every writer needs a Caitlin in their arsenal ~ J. Portugal
  • Caitlin McColl assisted me with a final polish and edit and I am beyond impressed with her ability to refine and improve my work. This is a professional effort and I highly recommend her services ~ Sarah St. Erth
  • Caitlin has been a wonderful asset as an editor for my short stories. She’s kind, honest and knowledgeable. I definitely recommend her services if you’re looking for an Editor who is highly skilled, has lots of experience, and has a passion to help others succeed ~ Casey Promise Thompson
  • Caitlin worked her editorial magic on a piece for me and her advice was great. After using her suggestions and rereading both versions I felt much more comfortable saying, “I think this is in good shape to publish on Vocal.” Her keen eye for little things that I was too close to as the writer helped immensely. The way she goes about communicating was both honest and supportive, which made me feel really good about the process. I can’t thank her enough ~ Jason Morton
  • Caitlin’s feedback was so helpful! It was clear and constructive which helped to get my story off the ground! ~ E.A. Wilcox

If you’d like to leave your own testimonial, there’s an area on my website here for you to leave it in the comment box!

So if you’d like me to help your Vocal story shine, please don’t hesitate to get in touch either through email or Facebook Messenger!

~~~~~~~

I hope you enjoyed this piece! If so, please consider sharing, ❤️ing or if you feel so inspired, a tip (but no obligation!). Your support means a lot to me, thank you!

product review
18

About the Creator

Caitlin McColl

I hope you enjoy my writing! Your support means a lot to me!

Find me various places here.

Read:

My Series

My Short Stories

My Novels

My Poetry One & Two

Aeternum Tom Bradbury

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.