Journal logo

Shahin Shateri

Autobiography

By Shahin ShateriPublished about a year ago 2 min read
Like

My name is Shahin Shateri and I was born on the 6th of December, 1987 in Tehran, Iran. My parents are Rahim Shateri and Minoo Zahirfard. Both of my parents are still alive. I am the oldest among 3 boys as well as the oldest grandchild.

Dad is a retired Oil and Petroleum Engineer and Mom is a psychologist.

My early childhood was a typical middle-class environment circa the 1980’s. My dad worked for Iran National Oil Company and my mom worked for a hospital as a clinical psychologist. I had a happy, normal childhood as the oldest and first child and grandchild, leaving me somewhat spoiled. My mom and dad divorced when I was fourteen years old and neither of them got remarried again though they are still very good friends.

Growing up with split parents was not especially difficult since each of my parents kept me out of their divorce and they got along fine at events where both of them were present. I lived with my mom until I was 22 and in college. I moved to the Philippines and started a new path in life in a new place which I fell in love with before during a short vacation. With a fresh start, I was able to grow as an independent individual and work on my interpersonal skills. Even with the completely different line of work experience, I had earlier in my life which was in the oil companies, I had always wanted to step into the startups and venture out. So, by moving to the Philippines I was offered many great opportunities in the BPO and startup industry.

One thing that I am sure of is that moving to the other side of the world and jumping into the water shaped me to become the man that I am

now. This decision really new doors for me. Fresh in the industry I have been offered the role of “Service Delivery Manager” position in a small BPO in Cebu Philippines because of my interpersonal and communication skills as well as my previous work experience. Shortly after I started in that position I have been offered a better position with higher pay by another company and I could not believe that I was getting up the ladder quickly. The job only got better as I became more experienced, leading to more confidence that I could handle the job regardless of what came along. Quickly after that, I become a “Project Manager” then “Systems and Improvement Manager” and then “The Operations Manager” and I even ended up as the “Acting CEO for a while”. One of the best things about working in BPO and Startups is that once what you are doing becomes routine or boring, you can change what you are doing. By the time I had been an Operations Manager for

four years and beginning to burn out on it I was able to go to the Business Development Consultancy route. This gave me a new dimension of experience and I learned a lot during my years as a Business Development Consult, particularly while I started to help people with ideas to put up their businesses. I did this for almost 4 years and eventually became to the point that I was craving the feeling of being part of the corporate world which brings me to the current time of writing this that I am venturing into the corporate world again.

interview
Like

About the Creator

Shahin Shateri

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Shahin Shateri is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.