Journal logo

Scared in Nicaragua

The Ride of Your Life! Cab Rides in Managua…..

By Mani SacasaPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

I remember last year when I finally arrived in Nicaragua. It was the first time I had been to my home country since my family left when I was 3. I first noticed how ancient the airport seemed; there was no air conditioning or anything. This was my first time going to Nicaragua since arriving when I was a child, so these things were new to me as I was more accustomed to the US.

Due to some issues at immigration, it took a while before I could leave the airport. Funny how even though I was born in the country, there was no record of me anywhere in their system. After a few phone calls they had to make to family members who still resided in the country, I was finally released.

If you think you know heat, you have not walked around Managua, Nicaragua, its capital. The heat there is an absolute nightmare. I have traveled across the US, opening restaurants for a chain I used to work for, but the heat in Managua was something else. Make sure you dress calmly but conservatively in this country.

Once outside the airport is where the "fun" began. Uber or any other ride-share system you are used to does not exist in Nicaragua as it is outlawed. There are also no set rates with the cab drivers, and the taxis there are from the 90s for the most part. They will charge what they want to capture. Make sure to ask how much they will charge, or they will take advantage of you after arriving.

Be ready to pay at least double if you speak with any accent. My wife, in those days, had to negotiate the pricing as she looked like a local. I remember they once told her it would be 30 cordobas for each person to get to our Airbnb, but as soon as he saw me, he immediately said 100. My wife told him, no, and the taxi next to him overheard and said he would do it for what was initially quoted.

Cab drivers in Managua have no regard for human life. These guys drive so fast and hardly ever stop. I once looked at my wife with such fear and told her I thought I would die. I know I was probably exaggerating, but it felt that way. These guys will hardly ever stop at red lights or stop signs. They will repeatedly honk their horn to let other incoming traffic know they are not stopping and driving straight through.

You will be holding on for dear life in that cab, which is how things are done there. Don't even ask them to slow down because they won't, as it would affect their earnings. I recently found out that, on average, a cab driver in Managua makes about $20-25 a day, and they consider those decent earnings.

I suggest being careful when sharing information as well. These drivers will ask for a lot of personal data that sometimes feel uncomfortable. It never happened to me, but I have heard stories about others being robbed when a cab driver would take them to a destination if they had expensive things they were bragging about. Be careful with what you share!

You will make it to your destination; sure, it will be a little scary, but please remember that this is a different world. Having an open mind to new things will open the door to new experiences. Nicaragua has its ups and downs like any country. Managua may not look the greatest, but there is more to Nicaragua than the capital and some great locations like San Juan del Sur. Safe travels!

travel
Like

About the Creator

Mani Sacasa

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.