Journal logo

Remember the Eighties? OMG. Where Did Time Go?

It feels like it's traveling at supersonic speeds.

By Rene Volpi Published 3 months ago Updated 3 months ago 3 min read
7
Remember the Eighties? OMG. Where Did Time Go?
Photo by Kevin Ku on Unsplash

Memories. Where do they come from? Chemicals in our brains tell us hazy stories about how things were NOT. It is like dreams---a fragmented pseudo-recollection completely off in comparison. But at least those are dreams. Memories play games with our minds. We romanticise a reality we think we lived, but it's just that, a fantasy tale, not a true-to-form recollection. It feels good to think of them in a brighter light. Who knows how we felt at that moment, but it wasn’t how we remember it today.

If you ask people what they think of time itself, you'll notice that most of them will tell you the same thing. “It goes way too fast.” or “Time flies” are common descriptions. Some will say they don't know where it went. Nostalgia is a big one. Mothers will be the first ones to agree with that, especially if they suffer from the 'empty nest' syndrome. As the children grow and go into the world to find their destiny and follow their dreams, that's the feeling they leave behind to parents back home, more considerably, mums. And it's sad, there's no other way to put it.

On the other hand, looking at old photographs helps us remember details. Those are usually funny enough to put a smile on our faces.

The oohs and the aahs fill the room with laughter if we are with other friends who relate to the same experience. All in good fun. Even so, it's a fantasy for the most part. We imagine the past distorted because that is what the ego does. Bringing forth dopamine hits can be mostly good for our state of mind, or the opposite can happen, and tears can easily overcome us. All in good fun. We must learn not to take ourselves too seriously. After all, everything MUST pass. A postcard of a fun holiday or a photo with a romantic ex could go either way, but it is still in the past. Overall, it is good fun, temporary, and romanticised.

What happened to the years? Time has evaporated in the blink of an eye. It doesn’t matter if you lived fast, furious, slow, or tedious. It still went past in a flash.

I don't know if this is true, but some say the best times are the ones that fly by quicker than any other. It sounds about right to me. Either way, the ’80s were the times to remember. The good times were so incredible that they passed by in a blur, unlike any other recent memory. At least, that’s what my brains tell me, and I have photos, cassette tapes, and videos to prove it.

But what do we mean by “good”? Are times good, depending on our experiences or other reasons? What’s the deciding factor? Is it the country we live in? Is it the company of a magnificent lover? Is it our financial situation or the world’s? Or maybe it is our youth, excellent health, and other favourable circumstances.

But one thing is definite. Looking back, we all have a favourite decade when everything we lived or experienced felt close to perfect. But was it?

Of course, some people prefer the 70s for the same reasons: earlier, later, or maybe a week ago. Preferences. As the saying goes: To each its own.

I can only speak for myself. The eighties take a special place in my heart for so many reasons. And I’d venture to say I’m sorry if you didn't get to enjoy them, especially if you didn’t live in the West. And I’m sorry if you youngsters missed the boat. They were as good as good can be.

By Ben White on Unsplash

humanity
7

About the Creator

Rene Volpi

I'm from Italy and write every day. Being a storyteller by nature, I've entertained (and annoyed) people with my "expositions" since I was a child, showing everyone my primitive drawings, doodles, and poems. Still do! Leave me a comment :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Rachel Deeming3 months ago

    I grew up in the eighties. I have a friend who says the music was the best but I'm not so sure about that! Nostalgia does distort and I think that as you get older you start to look backwards, maybe because there're more years behind you than infront of you. I don't know. I still feel part of this world but I prefer the one, in some ways, that I've left behind. Rene, this has made me thoughtful which is no bad thing.

  • I have no memories of the 80s as I was born in 1990. 90s kid all the way, hehehehehe. But I don't have any favourite decade of my life. I hate all of them the same 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

  • Enjoyable read… thanks. ‘A postcard of a fun holiday or a photo with a romantic ex could go either way, but it is still in the past. Overall, it is good fun, temporary, and romanticised.’🤩 The ‘80s were good times for me also… probably for similar reasons.

  • I'll have you know, I don't remember the 80s, as I was born in '98, but the idea of memory as misplaced is magnificent and super-creative. Wonderful words, my dude!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.