Journal logo

Reflections on Living as an Expat in Paris

Expat life has its own set of challenges, but it also has the potential to provide unique adventures and experiences

By B.R. ShenoyPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
1
Reflections on Living as an Expat in Paris
Photo by Dex Ezekiel on Unsplash

“Life might be difficult for a while, but I would tough it out because living in a foreign country is one of those things that everyone should try at least once. My understanding was that it completed a person, sanding down the rough provincial edges and transforming you into a citizen of the world.” — David Sedaris

Ah, Paris! The City of Lights! The City of Love! The City of Haute Couture! The city conjures up such vivid images in my mind.

I had the good fortune not only to honeymoon in Paris for a week in the mid-1990s, but also to reside there as an expatriate for 18 months in the early aughts.

I had holidayed in Paris with my family for a few days as a young girl in the late 1970s as well.

Lucky me, you think? I must live a charmed life. Au contraire. Life in Paris came with all the hurdles, difficulties, and challenges of being an expatriate in a brand new city, where I spoke only a smattering of the language. I had only studied French for one year in the seventh grade.

Language

As a young mom with an energetic toddler son, married to an extremely busy executive, I felt lonely and isolated in a strange new land far away from my family and friends.

Thankfully, I could remedy the situation by enrolling straightaway in French lessons with a private tutor. As a result, I was able to leap from beginner to advanced French speedily.

Weather

For the majority of the year, the weather in Paris is cold, grey, and, to be honest, quite dreary. The weather has an impact on my daily mood and mental state, so it could be depressing at times.

However, the summers in Paris are pleasantly warm and dry. Unfortunately, we could not enjoy the summer weather there, as we used that time of year to make little excursions to neighboring European countries.

Public Transport

One major faux pas we made was foregoing having a car. Consequently, we had to take public transport to any place that was not within walking distance of our apartment.

Public transport in Paris was either a metro, RER train, bus, or tram. The latter was no easy feat with a mischievous toddler. We did occasionally take a taxi if the need arose.

Using public transport became even more of a challenge later when I became pregnant with my second child. At that point, I needed to take two buses, or an RER train and a metro to get to the American Hospital for my routine prenatal appointments.

Driving in Paris was a nightmare, so at the time, not buying a car seemed like a wise decision.

By Yiwen on Unsplash

Shopping

The situation was not all doom and gloom. I have countless fond memories as well of our posting in Paris. My favorite memories were shopping on the wide tree-lined boulevards at world-famous department stores such as the Galleries Lafayette and the Printemps.

I often grabbed a packed sandwich from the grocery department at Marks and Spencer for a quick lunch on the go during a day of retail therapy.

Favorite Time of Day

My favorite time of day was when I dropped off my son at the local ecole maternelle ( French preschool) in the early hours of the morning.

The only people on the streets at that time were other parents dropping off their kids at school; the shopkeepers sweeping or hosing down the walkways; the elderly ladies walking their dogs; and the delivery trucks unloading their goods. It was like having the entire city to yourself.

Life in Paris came with all the hurdles, difficulties, and challenges of being an expatriate in a brand new city, where I spoke only a smattering of the language.

Parks and Playgrounds

Paris is well known for its plethora of beautiful parks and gardens. My little one and I would purchase a crusty baguette sandwich and a freshly baked chocolate croissant from the myriad boulangeries and patisseries dispersed throughout the city.

We would sit together on a park bench, munching on our sandwiches and pastries while we watched the ducks and geese.

We spent many afternoons at one of the numerous local playgrounds. My tot would play on the slides, seesaws, and sandbox while I perused a book. It was a great way to while away the hours.

We lived in close proximity to the Parc Andre Citroen, which was established near the River Seine.

As I recall, on one occasion, my husband and my kiddo even had the opportunity to ride a tethered hot air balloon in the park. My little guy was only four years old at the time but still remembers that magical ride to this day.

American Library in Paris

We particularly loved spending time at the American Library in Paris — a treasure trove of knowledge.

My son and I could easily spend a couple of hours wandering the aisles of the library — the most extensive English-language lending library in Europe. We would then proceed to borrow stacks of books to read at our leisure at home.

By Joe deSousa on Unsplash

Historic Sites and Restaurants

With my toddler safely buckled up in his stroller, we would take long leisurely strolls as a family exploring the city. On weekends, we would tour the countless museums and monuments dotted throughout the city.

Our favorite attractions were the Eiffel Tower, the Rodin Museum, and the Bois de Bolougne. My husband and I even attended a company holiday party at the Musee Carnavalet.

My family had the pleasure of taking a scenic evening boat cruise on the River Seine. The city looked spectacular, as it took on an entirely different look and feel at night. It was indeed one of those “pinch me” moments in life.

There was a seemingly endless set of things to do in this bustling metropolis. I loved being a part of the hustle and bustle of living in the French capital.

We relished the delicious cuisine in the ethnic restaurants, not to mention found delight in the charming architecture and the stunning scenery.

I will admit that walking on the cobblestones made our feet a little sore. It was, however, a small price to pay for living in such a historic city.

Final Thoughts

For our family, living abroad as an expatriate presented a slew of new challenges. Nonetheless, in retrospect, we were extremely fortunate to have had such a fantastic opportunity to live in such an iconic city!

This story originally appeared on Medium.

travel
1

About the Creator

B.R. Shenoy

Content Creator|Blogger|Nature and Travel Photographer. Connect with me on Medium and NewsBreak.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.