Journal logo

Practice Self-Care While Working From Home

How To Practice Self-Care While Working From Home

By Tammy S.Published about a year ago 3 min read
Like
Practice Self-Care While Working From Home
Photo by Fabian Møller on Unsplash

If there is one thing I would tell my fellow freelancers, self-employed peers, and remote workers, it’s to make sure you are practicing self-care. Just because you are working from home doesn’t mean you shouldn’t go the extra mile for yourself. You’re still working, and you still need to take a mental and physical break.

There is a lot of work that goes into various positions. Take writing for example (as I’m a freelance writer). Once I have the work in front of me, I need to research, come up with ideas, write the article, proofread, edit as needed, and then submit it, and this doesn’t include the possible revisions or the fact that I proofread most orders twice. Then I move to the next writing order, and lather, rinse, repeat.

So, that’s a good chunk of my day sitting at my workspace, staring at a computer screen. Yes, I can listen to music. Yes, I can work in comfy clothes. But I still need to work.

I like to stick to my routine, which I’m currently working to improve. But tonight, I’m wrapping up early to go to the movies with my family (we’re seeing a “Knock At The Cabin,” if anyone is curious). One part of me feels I should stay home and write, learn how to better market myself, etc. Another part is telling me to just go to the movies. The ticket was free, and work most likely won’t fully pick back up until Monday, so I may as well take a break from my routine and have a little fun. I can get an earlier start tomorrow.

(But don’t worry, my deadlines have been met.)

It’s important to give yourself the physical and mental break you need. Does self-care only mean making some tea, meditating, and taking a bubble bath? No, but those aren’t bad ideas either, lol. It just means you need to switch your mind and body into “out of office” mode. Make your favorite meal. Watch a movie. Curl up with a good book. Play with your dog outside (or your cat inside). Just do something for YOU.

When I became active on a freelancing platform, one thing I didn’t do was install the app on my phone. I know that sounds bad, but I don’t want notifications coming through when I’m “out of the office.” However, I DO use the mobile browser to check for messages and orders (and respond accordingly), and I do that every day (except for weekends, when I put up an away message). This way, there is a balance. I’m not getting notifications when I’m having dinner with my family or unwinding at night with my dogs, but I’m also keeping the line of communication open for my potential clients. Think of it this way — — I’m maintaining a work-life balance by not installing that app. The app is, however, on my tablet in case I need it, but I don’t carry my tablet with me everywhere like I do with my phone. Of course, that’s just what works for me. You may need to take a different approach to that work-life balance.

Another way to practice self-care while working from home is to learn when to say “NO.” When things really started to pick up on that freelance platform, I took on anything and everything (within reason), and this is in addition to the work I would do elsewhere. I found myself pulling all-nighters to get everything done (meeting a deadline is very important to me). Now, I know when my plate is full, and I know when to turn down work (but for some clients, I’d offer to work on it the next week, which some have agreed to in the past).

I love that more people can work from home. I want people to be able to work remotely (those who want to anyway). Does it mean more competition in my niche? Yes. But I care about people, and I’m all for taking care of yourself and your health, and I know that working from home is a better option for many people. I totally get it because, from a personal standpoint, it’s a better option for me.

But that’s also why I cannot stress this enough — — you need to practice self-care, even while working from home. You cannot expect to deliver quality work if you are pouring from an empty cup. Take care of yourself, and the rest will fall into place.

Disclaimer: I published the original version of this story on another platform. You can find the link to the original version here: https://medium.com/@tammys_85/practice-self-care-while-working-from-home-37c72033225b

advice
Like

About the Creator

Tammy S.

Welcome to my corner of the writing world! This is a place for me to share my thoughts, feelings, advice, niches, and life.

My Linktree: https://linktr.ee/tswriter85

Profile header by Chimene Gaspar from Pixabay.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.