Journal logo

Six Things I’ve Learned As A Freelance Writer

Sharing What I've Learned As A Freelance Writer

By Tammy S.Published about a year ago 4 min read
1
Six Things I’ve Learned As A Freelance Writer
Photo by Kevin Bhagat on Unsplash

I was introduced to freelance writing in 2009, and I took a bigger leap in 2010. In the 13–14 years I’ve been writing, I’ve learned a few things. Some of those lessons I’ve learned the hard way, but at least the experience has taught me a lot. I think sharing those lessons could be helpful for others, especially those who have been getting their feet wet in freelance writing as well.

Now, when I say freelance writing in this post, I’m referring to picking up work for clients.

Six Things I’ve Learned As A Freelance Writer

1. Learn From Your Mistakes

Different clients and platforms want different things, and we are only human, so making a mistake is inevitable. One platform uses AP Style, which I wasn’t familiar with back in the day. This means I made a lot of mistakes with commas, to the point of avoiding using them for connecting sentences.

However, I finally took the time to learn how to use commas in AP Style writing. For years, I’ve been proofreading out loud, twice for longer articles or blog posts. It is okay to make mistakes because we aren’t magicians, we’re human beings who happen to write, but you want to make sure you learn from those mistakes.

2. Put Multiple Eggs In Your Basket

Oh boy, did I learn this lesson the hard way. I would depend on just one website or just one client, and then panic if work on the job board slowed down or that client disappeared on me. It took me a while to learn that I cannot put all my eggs in one basket. How can I adapt and overcome if I don’t have other sources?

Now, I have an account on Fiverr, I’m on multiple teams on Textbroker, and I occasionally check WriterAccess. I keep in touch with my clients and ensure I am on a good amount of writing teams, and I’m always looking to add more eggs to my basket. You can think of the multiple eggs in your basket as a series of backup plans. It also keeps your work from becoming boring. After all, variety is the spice of life.

3. Research Before You Join

Sometimes, you find a website, platform, or client that works for you. It may even seem too good to be true. When something sounds too good to be true, that’s because it IS too good to be true. I’ve learned that one, including recently. I went to apply for a random writing platform and did my research, only to find that I’d have to pay to access the job boards. Needless to say, I never applied for that platform. It is important to do your research, read reviews and ask for opinions before you dive right into anything.

4. Step Out of Your Comfort Zone

There comes a time when you need to step out of your comfort zone. It took me several years to post my first gig on Fiverr. I recently started pulling work from certain writing teams on Textbroker. It does take a bit for me to step outside of my comfort zone, but I’m glad to take that step. Some of the clients I work with, I’ve found because I took that step. You always want to ensure the opportunity is legit. If it is legit, go for it! It could turn out to be one of the best decisions you’ve ever made.

5. Do Not Overextend Yourself

When things really picked up on Fiverr, I would try anything unless I didn’t feel qualified for it. I’ve pulled all-nighters, working until my back and shoulders hurt. I’ve cut the deadlines too close for comfort because of my workload. At some point, I had to learn when to say no and put up my away message. I was always polite, and at times, I would mention that I’d be available for the next week if they still needed me.

Overextending yourself causes you to nearly miss deadlines and put yourself at risk of burnout. A work-life balance is important for both productivity and self-care, at least in my opinion.

6. Do More Than Writing For Work

You never want to lose your passion for writing, so I feel it is a good idea to write as a fun hobby too. I’m a member of MyLot, run a fan blog for a band, and keep several online and offline journals. Obviously, I’ve also added Medium to the mix. In addition to keeping your passion alive, writing outside of your work allows you to express yourself and stay creative.

Those are six things I have learned as a freelance writer. Who knows? Maybe I’ll come up with more lessons I’ve learned in the last 13–14 years.

Whether you have read my tips or have your own experiences, I hope everyone can become the writer they want to be.

Disclaimer: I published the original version of this story on another platform. You can find the link to the original version here: https://medium.com/@tammys_85/six-things-ive-learned-as-a-freelance-writer-961b5212c0cf

advice
1

About the Creator

Tammy S.

Welcome to my corner of the writing world! This is a place for me to share my thoughts, feelings, advice, niches, and life.

My Linktree: https://linktr.ee/tswriter85

Profile header by Chimene Gaspar from Pixabay.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.