Journal logo

Why I’m Grateful To Be A Freelance Writer

Five Reasons I Love What I Do.

By Tammy S.Published about a year ago 3 min read
Like
Why I’m Grateful To Be A Freelance Writer
Photo by Unsplash on Unsplash

I have been a freelance writer for over a decade now, and while I have my off days like everyone else, I am still grateful for the opportunity to do what I do. Regardless of your work, every job or gig has its ups and downs, so I thought I would share a few ups of my job. A few reasons why I am grateful to be a freelance writer.

I Get To Do What I Love

From short stories as a child to poetry as a teenager to blogging as an adult, I have always loved to write. It is easier for me to express myself through written (or typed) words, and I have always wanted to be a writer. Being a freelance writer gives me a sense of accomplishment because I am able to do what I love.

While my work is not always creative writing, I still have the opportunity to write about topics that interest me. This is a good thing because it has allowed me to find my niche (or niches) in the world of content writing. Besides, I can use my journals, blogs, and discussion sites for creative writing.

I Am Able To Help Others

I feel I can help people in more ways than one through my freelance writing gigs. For starters, I am helping clients who need content written for their websites or blogs. They may not have the time to create the content themselves, or maybe they feel more comfortable hiring a writer for the job.

On another note, I’ve written how-to articles, buyer’s guides, and blog posts where I share tips on certain topics, and I take my research very seriously. I would never want to share tips that are not helpful — or could be harmful — to readers. Therefore, I feel I am helping those who read the content to find what they need without issues.

I Can Learn Something New

My first private client was on Zerys from 2012–2015, and I loved their orders because I could learn something new. Some of my favorite topics were as simple as “Three Uses of Orange Peels” or “Five Uses of Baking Soda” because I found it interesting to learn what I could do with common household items. I knew some products had various uses, but I never dived into those uses before working with that client.

A recent private client needed me to write about Nanoblock sets, and I found it very interesting to learn about the various character and landscape sets (I am not experienced in Nanoblock. I had Legos growing up, lol). With people around me getting more into Nanoblock, I am grateful to have been introduced to these sets. I knew of the name and general idea prior to those writing gigs, but I didn’t know much else about them until I had to research them for work.

I Can Look Into Other Gigs

For my own reasons, I have recently decided to look into more long-term writing projects and other remote positions. Being a freelance writer gives me time to look for those projects and gigs in-between my deadlines.

Plus, I can still work on freelance writing jobs even after landing something more permanent, as long as I’m mindful of deadlines and a work-life balance.

The Opportunity To Work From Home

Of course, I also enjoy the opportunity to work from home as a freelance writer. But hey, that’s another article for another day.

So Grateful

Overall, I am so grateful to have the opportunity to be a freelance writer, and I want to continue to learn, gain experience and grow this year!

Disclaimer: I published the original version of this story on another platform. You can find the link to the original version here: https://medium.com/@tammys_85/why-im-grateful-to-be-a-freelance-writer-c66de580f915

business
Like

About the Creator

Tammy S.

Welcome to my corner of the writing world! This is a place for me to share my thoughts, feelings, advice, niches, and life.

My Linktree: https://linktr.ee/tswriter85

Profile header by Chimene Gaspar from Pixabay.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.