Journal logo

Pieces of Me with Company

My Anthology of Short Stories

By Hadayai Majeed aka Dora SpencerPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Pieces of Me with Company
Photo by Michael Fenton on Unsplash

I began writing short stories as a writing exercise just over a year ago. It helped me concentrate and work my brain for content. Each short story then was only 300 to 400 words. Each day I challenged myself I could write another 30-50 words. Eventually I was up to 900-1000 words and after editing I had about 800 to 900 words. This was good and I knew I had to push harder. The words began to spill unto the page like children who needed direction as well as nurturing. To push hard without a hug would not be balanced. To hug and not push hard would be not good for the child. Everything must be in balance for it not only to feel right however to be beneficial.

Next I had to work on my shortcomings and at times my failings. Not to be too harsh to build character. A tough love lesson in reality. When I do not face my failings I become cowardly and weak as a person and as a writer. Each lesson was like climbing stairs. You can feel the challenge like when you hike up a hill. The pressure makes you stronger and better. Knowing to reach the next rung you must learn from the last. No quickly moving through and not feeling the burn.

This is what compiling the manuscript for Pieces has been for me a challenge with hard lessons that when learned led to a reward. Each story in the book has come from various places in my heart, mind and soul. Some are fond memories from my past. These are my sweet pieces. I remember my family from these pieces and it is like eating warm fudge. To remember my parents when they were raising me is the best way I like to think of them. To see them young, healthy and full of vigor offsets the times of seeing them in decline as they aged.

The fictional pieces are from my aspiring to imagine what could be if I only trusted myself with what I have learned in life and obtained from reading works of fiction by others. Following in the footsteps of my muses gleaning from their experience and making it my own. Not shallow imitating actually developing a character and bringing it to life. Letting the character take me by the hand and led me through the maze of discovery. Being brave enough to trust my character and go to the end with him or her.

Some of the work is from my journal entries my recording bits and pieces of my life. Dissecting the larger chunks and really looking deep into the meaning and reality. Attempting to find the answers to so many questions that each day of my life brings. Why do I want to write? What do I really want to accomplish? Is it doable? The answer is YES! If I truly believe I can do it I can. Everyone has a story or thousands in them that the world wants to hear. When we share a bit of ourselves with the world we can take a bit from the world. This makes my writing mean something more than pushing my thoughts on others.

Being blessed to know other creative people is like a gift at a holiday. We can share each others work. We can help each other. The company in Pieces of me are three other creatives, one is a well-known poet from NYC, a teenage working artist and her mom who also is a poet and great craft person. Some of their work is featured in the book. We all benefit by having our work featured in the book.

literature
1

About the Creator

Hadayai Majeed aka Dora Spencer

Hadayai Majeed writes short, intriguing stories in many genres. The Joy of Islam series and Pieces of Me with Company are collections of her diverse works and those of others. Each book is unique always leaving the reader wanting for more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.