Journal logo

Passing Ships

"A Small Moment on the Dock that Changed Everything: Lessons Learned from a Passing Ship"

By Shariq ArshadPublished about a year ago 6 min read
2

I remember the day vividly, although it happened many years ago. It was a warm summer evening, and I was sitting on the dock of my family's lakeside cabin, watching the sun set over the water. The air was still, and the only sounds were the gentle lapping of the waves against the shore and the occasional call of a loon.

As I sat there lost in thought, I noticed a boat approaching from the far end of the lake. It was a small sailboat, with a single person at the helm. As it drew closer, I could see that the person was a woman, and that she was sailing alone.

I watched in awe as she navigated the boat through the choppy water, tacking back and forth with skill and precision. As she drew closer to the dock, I could see the determination in her eyes and the set of her jaw.

As she sailed past, I called out to her, asking where she was headed. She smiled and replied that she was simply out for a sail, enjoying the beauty of the lake.

I watched as she sailed away, her boat disappearing into the distance. And in that moment, I realized that I had been inspired by her courage and independence. Here was a woman who was willing to take risks and pursue her passions, even if it meant doing so alone.

That small moment on the dock had a big impact on me. It taught me that sometimes the most important thing in life is to have the courage to pursue our dreams, even if it means setting out alone on uncharted waters. And it showed me that even passing ships can leave a lasting impression on our lives.

Years went by, but that image of the lone sailor stayed with me. It became a metaphor for the way I wanted to live my life - with a sense of adventure and a willingness to take risks.

I started to take up sailing myself, and spent many weekends on the lake, learning how to navigate the winds and waves. I found that being on the water gave me a sense of freedom and peace that I had never experienced before.

But it wasn't just about sailing. That passing ship had taught me a valuable lesson about life. It had shown me that it's okay to go against the current, to chart your own course, and to take risks in pursuit of your dreams.

As I look back on that small moment on the dock, I realize that it was a turning point in my life. It was the moment when I started to believe in myself and my abilities, and to trust that I could navigate whatever challenges came my way.

And so, as I sail on this lake, surrounded by the beauty of the world around me, I am grateful for that passing ship, and for the lessons it taught me about the power of courage and determination.

That passing ship also taught me the importance of connection and community. Even though the sailor was alone on her boat, she was still part of a larger community of boaters and adventurers who shared her passion for the water.

As I continued to sail and explore, I found myself drawn to others who shared my love of the lake and the outdoors. I joined a local sailing club and made new friends who inspired me with their own stories of adventure and perseverance.

Together, we sailed to new destinations, explored hidden coves and beaches, and challenged each other to push beyond our comfort zones. And through it all, we formed a tight-knit community that supported each other through the ups and downs of life.

Looking back, I realize that that passing ship was not just a symbol of courage and independence, but also of the power of community and connection. We all need someone to share our journey with, to help us navigate the waters of life, and to celebrate our victories and console us in our defeats.

And so, as I sail on this lake, surrounded by the beauty of nature and the support of my community, I am grateful for that passing ship and for all the lessons it has taught me about life, love, and adventure.

As time went by, I continued to sail and explore, always pushing myself to try new things and take on new challenges. I competed in regattas, sailed in races, and even took part in a few long-distance voyages.

But through it all, I never forgot the lessons that that passing ship had taught me. I remained true to my values of independence, courage, and community, and tried to live my life with those values in mind.

And then, one day, I received a letter that changed everything. It was from the sailor of that passing ship, the woman who had inspired me all those years ago. She had read an article I had written about my sailing adventures, and she wanted to reach out and say hello.

We started corresponding, and before long we had arranged to meet up and sail together. It was a dream come true, to be able to sail alongside the person who had inspired me so many years before.

As we sailed together, sharing stories and laughing about our adventures, I realized that that passing ship had come full circle. It had started as a symbol of courage and independence, then become a lesson in community and connection, and now had become a source of friendship and inspiration.

And so, as I sail on this lake, surrounded by the beauty of nature and the warmth of my friend's company, I am grateful for that passing ship, and for all the ways it has enriched my life.

As the sun begins to set over the lake, I think back on all the lessons that I have learned from that passing ship. It has taught me about courage, independence, community, and the power of friendship and inspiration.

And so, as I sail on into the future, I know that I will continue to carry those lessons with me, always seeking new adventures and new opportunities to grow and learn. For I know that no matter where my journey takes me, that passing ship will always be with me, a symbol of all that is possible when we have the courage to follow our dreams.

career
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Saad Arshadabout a year ago

    very good

  • Saad Arshadabout a year ago

    i like the story

  • Saad Arshadabout a year ago

    good story

  • Saad Arshadabout a year ago

    true

  • Shariq Arshad (Author)about a year ago

    good story

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.