Journal logo

Our Personal Vocal Goals

Some Observation on Why We Write n Vocal

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
12
Why Do We Do This?

I am probably repeating myself once again as I write this , but it does come from a lot of observations about how I see others pursuing their own Vocal Goals.

Why Did We Join Vocal?

Were we seduced by those big prizes offered in the challenges. I certainly was. Since then I have been publicly virtually invisible to Vocal. I have lots of “Awesome Story” bonuses , but they don’t get you any publicity whatsoever.

Do We Regret Joining Vocal?

I certainly don’t but my perspective has changed. This year I intended to cut back my posting on my Seven Days In blog , but in six months I have posted 250 pieces on Vocal (I think a lot of people see me as quantity over quality) but with a hundred posts on my blog that is 350 pieces with two months to go.

Also for the last two months Vocal+ has paid for itself in reads alone , with bonuses and tips. I have taken over $200 from Vocal and paid them about $70 , but to do that I do need to keep writing because once a piece is posted that’s it , they are seldom re-read . Also once a Vocal reader reads my piece that’s it , so re-sharing doesn’t really help if your audience doesn’t change

We All Want Reads

I see people asking for reads to hit 100 , 1000 and more overall reads and that is understandable (1000 reads gets you a $5 bonus) but I feel that people asking for reads because they want 5000 a day is a bit much.

Promotion of low read items is a good idea , because if reads are low it's unlikely that your Vocal friends have read the stories

I am too lazy to do this and feel that if I did I would personally be going against my own principles , but that is me.

I share some posts on twitter , but some I feel I should just share with my Vocal friends. This obviously limits how many reads I will get.

The thing is Vocal members will read and comment on your work in the Facebook groups so you know whether what you are doing is really appreciated. I have tried dropping stories into other groups that I saw may be a potential audience but generally people seem to only respond to pictures . memes and mauve short videos.

Ironically reading seems to be beyond a lot of the non Vocal target audience, I am sure that’s insulting but my normal Facebook friends seldom acknowledge my posts and then the various groups I’m posting in , I see no acknowledgement of my posts.

Vocal Groups

I am a member of maybe five Vocal groups and tend to post my stories in most of these where I can, and I do believe that 95% of my reads come from my Vocal friends. People recommend SEO (Search Engine Optimization) techniques , but while I do want people to read my posts, I do not want to compromise my writing to improve it’s SEO . It would take time and I do prefer an easier life.

Every two reads generates around a cent on Vocal+ but you need to keep them coming.

There are a list of my Vocal groups in this article here

So What Are My Goals?

They have changed since I joined Vocal. My main aim is to write. I know my writing will never win a Vocal competition or be a Top Story because I am undisciplined and like with the SEO I don’t fall into line. This has caused issues with Vocal Creators in the past , but I can’t change. It’s the same reason I won’t join a gym. I do not like what I see as the boring regimentation, but to others that is the Ambrosia of the Gods.

Although Vocal doesn’t recognise me , my Vocal Facebook friends do and they are the ones that keep me going and wanting to write.

My writing will generate enough money to maintain my Vocal+ account and that along with the love and support from my Vocal friends is all I need.

product review
12

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Celia

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.