Journal logo

Omar's Diary for the rest of January 2023

Lady Servant has her op, DIY, Beau and a catering faux pas

By Alan RussellPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
From the talented Gemma Gill of Peg's Pony Pictures

I am pleased to announce that following a wait of more than a year, including two cancellations, that Lady Servant’s frustrations have been somewhat assuaged by her undergoing her operation on 25th January. Her progress towards a recovery is now underway.

Once again Lady Servant has nothing but praise for the dedicated surgeons, doctors, nurses and healthcare assistants who looked after her during her 36 hour stay in hospital. That admiration extends especially to the nurses and healthcare assistants.

All of us here at Omar Towers support them in their efforts, however disruptive, to secure better pay and conditions. Afterall, what sort of measure of society is it when those responsible for healthcare and life and death decisions have to resort to food banks to eat and keeping their central heating off to save money?

Following my comment on Man Servant’s DIY efforts (See Omar’s Diary to mid-January 2023) both projects mentioned then remain intact. He completed the wall mounted configuration for the saddles a week ago and I am pleased if not somewhat relieved that it is still attached to the wall which is still standing.

Sometimes I do worry about Man Servant. Take while he was doing his DIY. He carefully got all his tools and materials together where he was working. He also kept muttering to himself “work slow work fast” and “measure twice cut once”. I do admit he was slow but not once did I hear him declare he had cut a wrong length. What he did do more than once was put something down just for a second and then not be able to find it. And “No”, although I watched him avidly I was not guilty of moving any of his things around to cause this angst. Then again I was not entirely innocent either as I know of at least one pencil and one drill bit that just happened to fall off of a worktop.

His current and ongoing project is the more passive one of painting the woodwork in the hall and on the staircase. My only involvement with this is watching. Or, if I want to affect his blood pressure I find the newest paint and make it look like I am going to have contact with it. Oh, what fun watching him get a little scratchy, call my name before picking me up and removing me from the danger zone. Honestly, I would not have got close enough to the wet paint but I do enjoy teasing him sometimes.

Beau has continued to settle into Omar Towers well. We do have the occasional spat over territory or rights of way through the cavernous rooms and corridors. These are forgotten as quickly as they flared. No grudges are carried forward. We have now reached the stage in our relationship, entirely platonic you understand, where we sleep on the Servants’ bed together but without any bodily contact.

There was another cause for concern about Man Servant. The other evening while preparing a light supper he retrieved what he thought were sausage rolls from the freezer and put them in the oven to cook. While he was waiting he prepared his plate by slicing a pickled cucumber. Lady Servant came into the kitchen looked at what was in the oven and realised his mistake. I can confirm that I heard her tell him his savouries were in the fridge. He had only put some croissants filled with apple sauce in the oven and not the intended savoury morsels. He did eventually have the intended savouries with the pickled cucumber. His comment was that the apple filled croissants tasted better than the intended amuse-bouches.

As a result of this faux pas he was made to attend an appointment with an audiologist where he had his ears cleaned out.

satire
Like

About the Creator

Alan Russell

When you read my words they may not be perfect but I hope they:

1. Engage you

2. Entertain you

3. At least make you smile (Omar's Diaries) or

4. Think about this crazy world we live in and

5. Never accept anything at face value

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.