Journal logo

Novak Djokovic wins the first Australian singles match since 2022

Novak Djokovic beat Constant Lestienne 6-3, 6-2 in his first singles match in Australia since he was kicked out of the country last year

By DevidPublished about a year ago 3 min read

Following his banishment from Australia a year prior, Novak Djokovic won his first singles match in Australia at the Adelaide International. The victory came at the conclusion of the tournament. He accomplished this feat by defeating Constant Lestienne.

In the first round of the Adelaide International, Novak Djokovic cruised to victory in his first singles encounter in Australia since being banned from the country a year ago. Djokovic defeated Constant Lestienne in straight sets, 6-3 and 6-2, to claim the title. Tuesday was the day that the contest took place.

The Serb, who was 35 years old at the time, was expelled from the country the day before the 2022 Australian Open due to the fact that he had not been vaccinated against COVID-19. In addition, he was barred from entering the nation for a period of three years; however, this restriction was overturned in November.

Djokovic kicked off his training for the Australian Open, which will take place from January 16–29, by breezing through the first set of his match against Lestienne, who is ranked 65th in the world. Djokovic made a rare appearance playing doubles on Monday, and his fans were there to show their support for the tennis player. The player, who has won a total of 21 Grand Slam titles, ratcheted up the pressure on his French opponent by taking a double break to go up 4-0 in the second set.

This put the player, who has won a total of 21 Grand Slam titles, in the driver's seat. However, Djokovic finished the match in amazing fashion, and his fans applauded his name as they did so. Before Lestienne could get on the scoreboard, the match was over.

Djokovic thanked the fans for their presence on the court by saying, "I have to say, I'm glad to be back in Australia." Djokovic is a Serbian professional tennis player. "I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for the kind welcome that you have shown to me.

"If I were forced to pick just one country that has been the most helpful to me in terms of my tennis career, I would have to say that it has been this one." My experience has been that I am treated the best here, and it is also the place where I have had the most success. This tournament is where I won my first Grand Slam victory in 2008, and I've now won a total of nine trophies at the Australian Open.

I've competed in some amazing battles in the past. Because I have always had the most success playing tennis in Australia, I am looking forward to the opportunity to compete in this country once more. The events of the prior year unfolded in the manner in which they did, and despite the fact that it was difficult for everyone concerned, I'm pleased to be here where I can focus on tennis and take joy in spending time with you all.

Novak Djokovic, who is currently ranked fifth in the world, will face his next opponent, Quentin Halys, who is also from France and is ranked fifth in the world.Quentin Halys is currently ranked fifth in the world.

Former U.S. Open champion Daniil Medvedev also went to the second round of the ATP 250 competition. Lorenzo Sonego, his opponent, withdrew from the match when he was trailing 7-6(6) 2-1 due to a right arm injury.This allowed Daniil Medvedev to proceed.

Medvedev, who had previously lost to Rafa Nadal in the championship event held at Melbourne Park the year prior, overcame nine set points to win the first set. Nadal was the opponent in that match.

"You've got to be kidding me," was the response that Medvedev gave to that question. I can say without a doubt that this is the very first occasion in my whole life that I have been successful in preserving nine set points.

What a fantastic way to begin the first day of the new year! Even though we only played for an hour and forty minutes, it is still bad for everyone that it ended so suddenly; despite this, I am pleased that it is finished. even though we only played for an hour and forty minutes. It is necessary for Medvedev to win his match against Miomir Kecmanovic of Serbia in order for him to move on to the quarterfinals.

career

About the Creator

Devid

I love writing stories for people and can easily get into the minds of my characters. I am passionate about changing lives through my writings and am willing to go an extra mile to create something really beautiful for you.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    DevidWritten by Devid

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.