Journal logo

Navigating the Quest of a Creative Soul

Balancing passion and practicality

By Amanda DoylePublished 14 days ago 4 min read
Like
Photo by Thomas M. Evans on Unsplash.com

I've never really thought that writing was that hard. When I was young, I heard a quote that was something like, "how can writing be hard when all you do is sit and bleed words?"

That's why I wanted to be a writer. I wanted to find something that felt easy and effortless, the way writing did.

I wanted this secretly, always pretending that I could convince myself to do something other than creating for the rest of my life. As I went to school for different careers and opened different businesses, I continued to upload articles every once in a while and get the words on the page.

With the social media reign, my want to be a writer converted more into a creator of sorts. I wanted to be multi-dimensional. I wanted to be able to do different types of content on different topics and still have people see me as valuable.

The only problem with this? H0w the hell are you supposed to make money while you create and establish the base that WILL make you money?

A Quest Not Made for the Weak

University was tough. I got to my third year, and my life was uprooted by a traumatic experience. I suddenly found myself in a hospital bed with depression and debt. The only good thing that came from that experience is that it changed my life and got me to the place I needed in order to get a diagnosis for the mental health problems that I had been struggling with.

All throughout high school and university, I struggled with my mental health. Now, at the age of 21, I was being diagnosed and given medication. This was a relief. Another relief came in the form of financial support from the government. Due to my mental health being severe the way it is, I'm on the disability program. It's enough to get by, but I still aspire to not need it anymore.

That's why I work on projects and try new things. The common thread throughout everything is my love of creating new things, especially with words. I feel blessed that being on the disability program allows me to have unlimited time to work on what I want to work on. However, it's not a quest that is made for the weak. Pursuing creative endeavors while managing financial challenges is really tough.

I'm not the best person to come to for this type of stuff, but my best piece of advice would be to forgive yourself. We all make mistakes with money sometimes and it's important that you don't hold a grudge, because that'll just make you hate money more, which just makes you have less of it.

I think the trick is to be indifferent to money. See it as a tool, not a luxury. It's necessary, but it needs to be used in a productive way or else it just goes to waste.

Tomorrow's a New Day

I mentioned forgiving yourself because I still find myself treating money like a luxury, when I can't afford to. I'm still in debt, lots of it, and it makes me feel anxious every time I think about it.

But if you make a mistake today, remember that tomorrow is a new day to save a little bit more money. Tomorrow is a new day to not spend that extra money at the grocery store. Tomorrow is a new day to mention your offer to someone, or even get a sale on that offer.

Tomorrow is a new day to have motivation in the midst of financial uncertainty, which is certainly building your resilience. That resilience is what will get you through the life of a creator, which is filled with ups and downs — especially when it comes to money.

I'm only able to say all of this because I live in a great position of having lots of time to work on my projects. I know not everyone is this lucky. However, I'm not going to be in this position forever, and today I decided that it was a new day and a good day to write an article, so I could work towards a bigger goal.

Photo by JP Valery on Unsplash.com

I'm not really the right role model to talk about this, but I felt like talking about it anyway. I think the fact that I've continued to try new things when I felt uncertain has been key for me, especially for my self development.

Writing has gotten me through many storms, and I think it'll help me get much further in life if I would just lean into it. The thing that you do for the rest of your life shouldn't feel too hard or complicated. It should feel synchronistic. It should feel like it makes sense.

I guess you could say that I'm officially adding writing to the resumé.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Amanda Doyle

Currently in my "figuring it the hell out" era.

Big believer in everything happening for a reason, second chances, and the fact that we're living in a simulation.

Check out my podcast: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/semimindfulbanter

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.