Journal logo

How The Universe Gave Me A Job

When you trust the universe to bring you your gifts, you may actually receive gifts!

By Amanda DoylePublished 11 months ago 4 min read
Like
Photo by Viva Luna Studios on Unsplash.com

It's mid-February, 2023.

For the past week or so, I've been stressing incessantly about needing to make money. As my partner and I are both on disability support through the government, and they only give so much, my mother-in-law goes to work to supplement majority of the income that we need for groceries and other household essentials.

However, she's been sick for a few weeks now, and we're starting to get worried. Not only are we worried about her health, but the need for money just keeps getting greater and greater, as she keeps needing to take time off of work.

I'm trying to make money through Happily Mander, but I'm in a slump. I don't know what my next direction is in my business, and I won't find that out until the end of April. I can't wait around for inspiration, and I need to do something that makes money NOW.

I've been applying for jobs online, but because of my mental disabilities, I would have a really hard time doing a traditional part time job, like retail. So I'm looking for work at home, and the only thing that I can even think to do is manage social media. So I apply for positions to manage social media pages and even create content, knowing damn well I am still just figuring it out on my own page.

So yeah, things aren't going well. I'm not getting any business from Happily Mander because I don't know what I'm doing with it. I'm not getting any job interviews because I'm a fraud and have been applying for jobs that I'm probably not qualified for. So where do I go from here?

I had just about given up when I came across a message in my spam folder on Instagram. It was from a woman who claimed to be an acquisition manager of an app called Salvia. She explained that they were expanding their business into North America and wanted me to work remote for them as a tarot reader.

Hold on...

When I first read this message, I didn't believe it. Offers like this are barely real and usually end up being scams.

But then my partner pointed out - if they really are a new-ish business that is expanding, how else would they find talent to recruit other than on social media? Especially with how prevalent social media is. Hell, I'm running my business on social media.

So I checked into it, looked up the company and looked up reviews of the app. Luckily, I found nothing. I had never done something like this before, but it seemed stupid to not take this offer.

It was perfect for me. All they wanted from me was about 15-20 hours a week active on the app, answering tarot questions and taking calls from clients.

So I trusted and I signed up. It was hard for me in the first month to trust, as I wouldn't get paid until about a whole month after first starting to work for them. I kept getting worried that I wouldn't receive my money, and even worse, that I would get conned.

But as time went on, nothing bad happened. I received my first cheque, and it wasn't a lot as I don't make a lot of money on the app, but it was absolutely better than nothing.

And then another month passed and I received my second cheque, and I trusted even more.

Now, it's the end of April, 2023.

I've finally come up with a new direction for my business, and I don't think I would have come up for it if it weren't for this app.

Working for Salvia has gotten me back into tarot, and I'm connecting to it in a new way. I'm seeing the benefit that tarot could bring to life coaching, and vice versa.

So with that being said, my new offer will focus on incorporating tarot and life coaching together. But more on that later.

For now, know this - if I hadn't trusted the universe to do its thing, I wouldn't be here. I almost didn't take the job because I was too scared that something bad would happen. But if I didn't start working for Salvia, I wouldn't have ever come up with my new idea that I'm going to implement into my coaching, and I feel like this idea is really gonna be a hit. I just gotta figure out how to talk about it.

Remember that you are the controller of your own life, and you say how things go. So if you choose to stand on the sidelines and miss opportunities because you're afraid you'll get hurt, you may never experience the bad things, but you'll also never experience the good things. It will just be blah.

Trust the universe to bring you your gifts in its own time.

career
Like

About the Creator

Amanda Doyle

Currently in my bad bitch era.

Online authenticity coach and tarot guide, here to help you become the most genuine version of yourself online.

Unleash your inner magic with me and own your unique journey!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.