Journal logo

Name Search

The origins of my name

By Kylecovey SmithPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
Like
Name Search
Photo by Benjamin Dada on Unsplash

My name is Kylecovey Miguel Smith, Graduate of Florida Agricultural & Mechanical University. My name is made up of 4 individual names that were given to me by my mother and father. My dad gave me the name Kylecovey due to liking the name Kyle, and due to his admiration of the interpreter James Covey, the man for vouched and translated for the captured Mende Africans of the Spanish slave ship, La Amistad, and aided them into being set free in 1839. My mother named me Miguel because she was a big Michael Jackson, but she wanted to give a special touch to the name by using the Spanish version. Therefore, I was assigned the middle name Miguel. My last name Smith was automatically given to me because my dad’s last name is Smith.

The name Kyle is of Scottish origin deriving from a district ruled by King Coel Hen in the former county of Ayshire, (https://www.surnamedb.com/Surname/Kyle). The password I used to access all the features in researching was denied 4 times. I if tried a fith time the whole account would be locked. So, a new password was created the first few I tried to use were deemed "too weak". Therefore, I created a new password that had 14 dots when typed, and finally I was able to go through. In other words, to avoid this hassle always remember to "reset your password". The name also means “Strait” and “Narrows” in relation to rivers and is also a unisex name as well. When given the name Kyle my parents particularly my dad did not want to give me an average name like Thomas or William. He wanted to give me a unique, one of a kind name. Something he made sure to do which brings me to the second portion of my first name Covey.

Like I said before I was given the name Covey based on the translator who testified on the behalf of imprisoned Mende Africans. The name itself is extremely rare, as I have never met anyone with the name Covey, and many people I have met often got it wrong by initially believing it to be “Cody”, or “Kobe/Cobey”. There was one time where my baseball plaque had “Kylecovery” engraved into it and I had to go to the department and fix it. The name Covey is of Irish origin, and is a dialectal variant of the name Coffey, itself an Anglicized form of the Gaelic O' Cobhthaigh, deriving from the prefix "O" meaning "descendant of", plus the byname "Cobhtach", Victorious (https://www.surnamedb.com/Surname/Covey). The name also means “small group of birds or people”.

My whole first name Kylecovey is one of a kind because I actually checked to see if there is anyone else in the world with that name, and I’m the only person who popped. Thus making me the one and only Kylecovey. Despite having to deal with people who tend to misspell my name like “Calcobey”, mispronouncing it and making fun of it, particularly in middle school where this one boy would call me Coyote.

This brings me to my middle name Miguel. It is the Spanish counterpart to the name Michael and derives from the phrase, “Who is like God”, is one of the seven archangels presented in the Bible. Miguel the Archangel is the one closest to God and is responsible for carrying out God's judgments. Considered the leader of the heavenly host, Michael is regarded as the patron of soldiers. I don’t consider myself a god because there is only one almighty God. I don’t often use my middle name unless I present it in one of my books I publish or for business. However, it’s a cool name and compliments my first name.

Finally, I am down to my last name Smith. The name Smith is immensely common as I have met numerous people with the same last name both peers, teachers and those who I never met like, Will Smith. In my personal opinion I say everyone who has the same last name as me is family.

adviceartfeaturehistoryhumanityliteraturesatirewall street
Like

About the Creator

Kylecovey Smith

Historian, Linguist, Author (Voyages of the 997 & The Method Mission), YouTuber/TikToker (Master Mojo) and now Vocal writer enjoy and critique my writing as please.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.