Journal logo

My Writing Goals: 2018

Writing Goals

By Iria Vasquez-PaezPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

Well, I finished the sci-fi novella that took me years to find the headspace to write it in. I have another sci-fi story that I’m working on, typing word for word. When I write, I tend to trance medium channel the story. In fact, my trance mediumship pretty much is how I learn. I can sit there, recording lectures in my head or with a device. When reading a book, I could almost download it but I have to read it in order to get my memories settled. I mean, I realize an M.F.A. takes a shorter time than an M.S. An M.F.A. at San Jose State is really easy.

This has been rattling around in my head. My knee isn’t well enough to go to Foothill College so I can get my transcript. I also need a De Anza transcript. I need to go to school again since I want to take some more creative writing classes. Since being on my current medication, school is much easier. I want to place high in my math situation, so I can take algebra again. I need more coursework to apply to the electrical engineering school in my hometown. I need to also type up a story called “Ice Cold”, which I made in a generic sci-fi fashion. I mean that story is so generic aside from a Hispanic protagonist that I doubt it will get published. But well, it is worth a shot. Facebook, through certain organizations that put out newsletters as to who is publishing, has actually allowed me to learn about many opportunities in literary journals and other magazines that publish science fiction. I mean I feel like I have a lot of ability to get my work out there now because the self-addressed stamped envelope is a thing of the past.

I am at number 152 on the science fiction publisher’s I submitted my novella too. I’m typing up “The Perfect Copy” so that I can have that on one file and I can edit it. I have other stories I remember writing from junior college. I have to ask if there are any other stories that survived, like the one I wrote about the death of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. I also did a Dark Dawn piece for my book series. I have a long list of books that need to be written. I have to refer to this list again but first I need to edit my non-fiction book and my fiction so I can release both. I also need to come up with new ideas for short stories, even if it is fan fiction.

I also have ideas for other fan fiction stories. Back in my 20s, I was brimming with fanfiction ideas. I need to start writing a short story a week and getting it published. I have a lot of work to do. In particular, with my non-fiction books, as I need to get a professional editor for my work so that I can manage to publish both books if they read right. I have only done so much work. My file for my non-fiction book on bullies has a pagination problem. I have articles to write about various topics. I have a lot of work to do in the coming months. I wrote a business plan for my writing company, Tough B, Inc. I need to get an EIN number for this company but also I have to organize the files in my house. This has to be done eventually. I blew off class this month because I was stressed. I guess I shouldn’t count on going to an 8:30 AM class in May because I feel off this month. I’m taking my medication later and the sun is rising earlier. May makes people on the bipolar spectrum feel a bit odd anyway because while it is my favorite time of year, the sunlight requires adjustment.

career
Like

About the Creator

Iria Vasquez-Paez

I have a B.A. in creative writing from San Francisco State. Can people please donate? I'm very low-income. I need to start an escape the Ferengi plan.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.