Journal logo

My Top Movies From 90s Top Actresses

Actors (just the female ones)

By Stephanie Van OrmanPublished 11 months ago 7 min read
Like
My Top Movies From 90s Top Actresses
Photo by Myke Simon on Unsplash

I love movies! But I especially liked watching movies in the 90s. With that in mind, I got the internet to give me a list of the top ten actresses from the 90s. I'm going to shout out my favorite of their 90s films. Ready?

10. Meg Ryan

Joe Versus The Volcano (1990). I use this film as an example for a lecture I give on the subject of overwhelming problems and how to compartmentalise them. The short version is that it's about a dying man who agrees to jump into a volcano in exchange for an extravagant lifestyle for the time until he dies. It's a comedy and Meg Ryan plays the girl in the story... three times. She's a brunette, a redhead, and a blonde.

For me, the reason this film is so amazing is because it takes us on a journey of why life is worth living and how the most damaging thing is how we think about our lives. We need to wake up.

9. Angelina Jolie

Playing God (1997). This is a movie about a doctor who has had his license revoked who starts doing surgery on criminals to keep his hand in the game... or something like that. Angelina plays the criminal's saucy girlfriend.

The most interesting thing about this movie is that it has a Rotten Tomatoes score of 16%. That's low, right? That is really low. However, this film has interesting writing, fun performances, a surprisingly good cast, and I have no idea why it scored so low. It's because there's no sex scene, isn't it? There was a sex scene hinted at in the trailer and none in the movie. That's what killed them, isn't it? Boo! I really liked this movie.

8. Demi Moore

A Few Good Men (1994). This is a seriously famous movie. I feel like giving a synopsis is a tad unnecessary. Well, YOU WANT THE TRUTH? Probably. It's about defending US marines in court who haze one of their privates and he accidentally dies. Whoops!

I used to watch this movie all the time when I was babysitting. The thing I thought that was most impressive about it was that has zero romance in it and I still enjoyed it enough to watch it on repeat. At that time in my life, I was very bored by stories without romance. I also learned that you think better holding a baseball bat... which is downright hilarious advice. No one thinks better holding a baseball bat.

7. Sandra Bullock

Practical Magic (1998). I was so enchanted by this film. It's about two sister witches who accidentally kill the one sister's abusive boyfriend and try to bring him back from the dead with disastrous results. It's about sisterhood and love and I used to cry my eyes out at the end of the movie.

I got my hands on a copy of the book by Alice Hoffman and though I loath to admit it publicly when I dislike a book... but I think the book may have destroyed my love for the film. Isn't that a surprise twist? Someone loved the film and hated the book? That never happens! Well, I'm a novelist myself and I have a thing or two to say about writing a book. The author has the right to write whatever book they want. That's the rule when you write a book. Whatever you write, you owe no one an apology. However, I do think the screenwriters did a splendid job.

6. Julia Roberts

Sleeping With The Enemy (1991). This is a story about a woman who escapes an abusive marriage by faking her own death. Amazing right? It's amazing.

There's really nothing to this film. It's pretty. The sets are pretty, Julia is pretty, they dress her up in different costumes in a montage, and she grabs her ponytail in a huge bunch and chops the whole thing off in one go. Of all the movies of this type, as there are quite a lot of films about women running from obsessive nut jobs they accidentally married, but this one is the clear winner.

5. Susan Sarandon

Thelma and Louise (1991). Again! I really hate to choose the movies that have become iconic. Obviously, it's about two friends who go on a road trip only for one of them to become a murderer because she saved her friend from being raped.

The thing that is the most notable about this film is sadly not Susan. It's Brad Pitt. Now, the thing is... Brad Pitt does not do films that are designed to rope in a female audience. This is a chick flick and he didn't do another chick flick for over thirty years. This was probably the last film he did where he didn't have creative control. After this, he had the fame and the freedom to only do films he wanted to do, so farewell to the ladies. Seriously, I haven't seen many Brad Pitt movies. They're for dudes.

4. Winona Ryder

How to Make an American Quilt (1995). This is a film that is built in the same way as a quilt, so there are a lot of small stories that add up to something bigger.

The most notable thing about it for me is that when it came out, I remember my youth leaders talking about it like it was a scandalous film. Like it was X-rated. It came out on a streaming service a few years ago and I was surprised by how thoughtful and touching it was. I know why my youth leaders freaked out. It begins by telling the story of how her grandmother slept with her great aunt's husband. I wonder if my youth leaders turned it off or if they watched it to the end. If they'd watched it to the end, they probably would have found it quite touching too.

3. Alicia Silverstone

Blast from the Past (1999). I know I should have chosen Clueless. It's a better movie, but I couldn't stand to. Besides, there is NOTHING WRONG WITH Blast from the Past. It's about a father who builds a bomb shelter under his house during the cold war and when he was working on it, a plane crashes on his house. So, he thinks the big one hit. His wife has their baby underground and... one thing leads to another and we have a movie.

As I said, there's nothing wrong with this movie. Alicia Silverstone hasn't done very many things so there isn't much to choose from.

2. Drew Barrymore

Bad Girls (1994). This is a female driven western. I haven't seen very many of those. I've seen a few westerns where the MC is a woman, but I haven't seen many where the top four billed actors are women (yes, I know saying actresses is out of vogue and I did it in the title of the article, but I really didn't want to include men so... blah).

This is the only movie I can think of where I thought Drew was funny. She's in a lot of comedies and I do enjoy her in other things, but I laugh whenever I think of her in this film. It just kills me when she goes to the jail to try to get her friend released and keeps telling the guy there that she's hurt, only to reveal a patch of perfectly healthy skin. It hurts so bad!

1. Michelle Pfeiffer

Deep End of the Ocean (1999). This movie messed me up. Even now, when I think of it, it twists my heart painfully. It's about a woman whose tiny son goes missing and she gets to live with that. Just thinking about the scene where she's loading the dishwasher, trying to just do something normal, but no matter what she does, it's like there are cuts all over her body. They don't show that. Michelle's performance is just that good. Pain everywhere.

The film is about how she answers the door one day and a boy asks her if he can mow her lawn and she thinks it's her son.

This movie has lots of surprises and honestly, it took such an incredible emotional toll on me, I'm astonished I could finish watching it.

That's the end of the list. The credits have rolled and the lights have come on. I'm asking where you parked because I need a ride home. Don't worry. We probably won't kill anyone accidentally on the way home. Probably.

humorlistcelebrities
Like

About the Creator

Stephanie Van Orman

I write novels like I am part-printer, part book factory, and a little girl running away with a balloon. I'm here as an experiment and I'm unsure if this is a place where I can fit in. We'll see.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.