Journal logo

My Pcos Battles

The struggles, pains and disappointments

By Seelya MothersillPublished 11 months ago 6 min read
Like
My Pcos Battles
Photo by Danie Franco on Unsplash

The first time I heard the term 'polycystic ovary syndrome,' I was sitting in a cold, sterile medical office, my heart pounding in my chest. As it turns out, PCOS would become the unexpected guest in my life's journey, a twist in my plot that I hadn't seen coming.

It brought with it a whirlwind of physical symptoms, emotional upheaval, and moments of despair. But it also introduced me to resilience, self-love, and the power of community. This is not just a story about living with a chronic health condition.

It's a story about transforming struggle into strength, discovering hope in despair, and finding beauty in the most unlikely places. Welcome to my journey with PCOS.

What is PCOS?

Polycystic ovary syndrome (PCOS) is a hormonal disorder common among women of reproductive age. Women with PCOS may have infrequent or prolonged menstrual periods or excess male hormone (androgen) levels. The ovaries may develop numerous small collections of fluid (follicles) and fail to regularly release eggs.

The exact cause of PCOS is unknown. Early diagnosis and treatment, along with weight loss, may reduce the risk of long-term complications such as type 2 diabetes and heart disease.

Common symptoms of PCOS include:

Irregular periods: Infrequent, irregular or prolonged menstrual cycles are the most common sign of PCOS.

Excess androgen: Elevated levels of male hormones may result in physical signs, such as excess facial and body hair (hirsutism), severe acne, or male-pattern baldness.

Polycystic ovaries: The ovaries might be enlarged and contain follicles that surround the eggs. As a result, the ovaries might fail to function regularly.

The imbalance of hormones can lead to a variety of complications, including infertility, metabolic syndrome, sleep apnea, endometrial cancer, depression, and anxiety. The condition can also have significant impacts on a person's quality of life due to its wide range of symptoms and the stigma associated with them. Treatment often focuses on managing individual concerns, such as infertility, hirsutism, acne, or obesity.

The day I found out I had PCOS, I had never heard about it before; this was something that sounded like a death sentence. Multiple cysts were seen on both ovaries via ultrasound, and the doctor asked about the frequency of my periods. That was all. I was given birth control and sent on my merry way. Nothing was explained to me, nor was I told that I would need to make lifestyle changes and that I would face a ton of symptoms I would never understand.

It later became clear to me that not even the doctors understood fully what PCOS was and how to help their patients with it. This was the year 2000, and boy, was the knowledge extremely lacking.

My symptoms from hell

I often refer to PCOS as the demon straight from hell; it has cost me great pain, heartache, and suffering. The symptoms I have are facial hair, extra weight around the belly, dark tags under my armpits, between the legs, and at one point, on my neck. I suffered from very irregular periods to the point where I would only have one to two periods per year. I also had multiple cysts on both ovaries.

Not only that, but I had mood swings, cravings for sweets and carbs, lacked energy, and was desperately trying to get pregnant to no avail. All these symptoms were driving me crazy at some point, and I felt worthless and ugly. I was shaving my facial hair almost daily (that's how fast they grew). Things just seemed to be getting worse as the years went by, and my doctors could not help me.

My body was doing its own thing, and I felt like I could do nothing about it. Frustration does not even begin to describe what I was feeling. At this point, I knew I had to take matters into my own hands. I had to learn more about PCOS, which may help me help myself.

Researching and taking action

Google became my best friend as I went to the internet seeking answers, this was nine years later, and I knew I needed answers; there had to be other women out there with the same condition. I won't lie and say what I found was super helpful at the time, but it was a start; I found others going through the same things I was facing. There were communities for women suffering from PCOS.

I didn't feel alone anymore, and this lifted the burden of having no one to talk to who understood what I was going through. These ladies became my sisters (Cysters), and we supported each other in every way we could. This was the support I craved for, for years.

Over the course of the next few years, I kept researching and found ways in which I could change my diet and lifestyle to live a better life with PCOS. This meant eliminating certain foods from my diet and including exercise. Surprisingly this helped to regulate my cycles and made me feel good. My energy was back after over a decade of not having any at all.

Foods I had to cut from my diet

A well-balanced diet can be a key part of managing PCOS symptoms and promoting overall health. While individual responses to foods can vary, there are certain types of food that are commonly recommended to limit or avoid for those managing PCOS.

Refined Carbohydrates: These can increase insulin levels and make PCOS symptoms worse. Foods in this category include white bread, pastries, pasta, and any food high in added sugars.

Sugar: High sugar consumption can exacerbate insulin resistance. Cut back on sugary beverages, candy, and desserts.

Processed Foods: These are often high in added sugars and unhealthy fats, which can worsen PCOS symptoms. Examples include fast foods, processed meats, and ready meals.

Saturated and Trans Fats: These types of fats can increase levels of "bad" LDL cholesterol and decrease "good" HDL cholesterol, which can exacerbate symptoms of PCOS. Limit foods like fried foods, fatty meats, and certain types of dairy products.

Soda and Energy Drinks: These are often loaded with sugar and can contribute to weight gain and higher insulin levels.

High Glycemic Index (GI) Foods: High GI foods cause a quick rise in blood sugar and insulin levels. These include foods like potatoes, white rice, and sweet breakfast cereals.

Remember, each person's body responds differently to different types of foods, so what works for one person may not work for another. Always consult with a healthcare provider or a registered dietitian before making significant changes to your diet.

Also, it's important to remember that diet is just one aspect of managing PCOS - regular physical activity, stress management, and appropriate medical treatments are also key. It's about creating a lifestyle that supports your overall well-being, rather than adhering to a restrictive diet.

With that being said, it is important to note that foods with high levels of sugar, even if it is natural sugar, can spike your sugar levels, affecting your insulin levels. And this is not good for your PCOS condition.

Fast-forward to 2023, I am way more knowledgeable about PCOS and now share this knowledge and support with as many women as possible. I knew I had to do so because I remember how lost I felt when I was first diagnosed and even years later until I took matters into my own hands.

If you have been diagnosed with PCOS, I encourage you to find support by joining a group and also educating yourself so you can make the necessary changes to live a healthier, happier life with PCOS.

how toadvice
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.