Journal logo

My Passions

Travel, Photography and my book

By Lawrence Edward HincheePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

When I was in the military, I realized a simple 110 camera wasn't going to be a reliable long term use camera. A sergeant in my company took me to the post exchange and he helped me pick out a Pentax, K-1000 for my travels. This camera was a 35mm camera, better photo quality. After I spent a lot of time taking trips, pictures, etc and spending a fortune on developing my photos my sergeant showed me how to develop my own film. Europe has always been my favorite vacation spot, now I am looking to go to Asia. But now the camera's are digital and you can print your own phots at Walgreens etc. Unfortunately, due to numerous moves all of my photos from my military days are gone so now I need to do them again, which is expensive. I also host my pictures on picfair another expensive venture plus marketing.

I also wrote my memoir titled, Silent Cries, A Memoir.

The book details the mental, physical and sexual abuse I suffered as a child. It is so graphic that Amazon won't let me run promotions. This book also deals with the boys and men I dated as a child. In 2020, I ordered two hundred twenty copies of my book to sell at the local pride event that was cancelled due to covid. Needless to say it is expensive to create a website, run a website, create ads through other sources and get reviews. I use a review site and my reviews are really good. Here is one such review. 5.0 out of 5 stars A Brave Memoir

Reviewed in the United States on May 16, 2021

Brent Seheult depicts the events of his life shaped by the years of abuse throughout his childhood in the 60s and 70s with the willing blind eye of his own mother. Through various encounters with family members and men his mother frequented, Brent finds himself without an ally as he is faced with continuous seductions as a child that help him embrace his life as a gay man as he seeks out the attention he initially has no protection from. This memoir is sad, but also details the ease that the predators are given when parental guardians are looking for attention for themselves as well. Brutally frank and honest, beware, but must read.

There are international competitions I could put this book into but the cost aspect is holding me back. A professionally designed website is very expensive and I have yet to recoup my initial costs in sales. I have taken to writing stories on vocal as well, and to promote them is difficult as everyone is busy with their own lives to take time to read your stories.

With me having to find additional avenues to promote my product and not being gainfully employed makes it difficult. As the mask mandates come off I can start to look at book signings. I can also participate in some local events to sell my book. My pictures I can try to sell online but as I said my balance sheet is out of balance. I took a six thousand dollar loss on my taxes last year with having to replace a laptop, printer, paper, rent lights and the fees for my review sites.

Many people follow my products because they are very reasonably priced. My friends really don't want to buy my book because they were there. My family only wants freebies, the ones that are still alive. My former co-workers don't want the product, because they think I should give them discounts. I have several people wanting to help promote my book through radio, tv and other medium but again, finances. A friend of mine gave me some advise when I told him I was writing my memoir, he said don't expect to make a lot of money. So far he has been right.

photography
1

About the Creator

Lawrence Edward Hinchee

I am a new author. I wrote my memoir Silent Cries and it is available on Amazon.com. I am new to writing and most of my writing has been for academia. I possess an MBA from Regis University in Denver, CO. I reside in Roanoke, VA.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.