Journal logo

Writers watch your 1099's

Taxes can be and are tricky

By Lawrence Edward HincheePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Schedule C that needs to be filled out.

Those of us who write for medium, vocal etc will receive a 1099 at the end of the year. We have to declare what we earn from these sources as income. If we run this as a business, then we attach a Schedule C to our tax returns.

Before you do any of this, I would suggest that you apply online at www.irs.gov for an employer identification number. If you run your writing operation as a business, then you can claim things such as, accounting, marketing, new laptop, cost of internet, cell phone, and many other items as expenses off your taxes.

The advantage to having a Schedule C is the income and or losses follow through to your personal tax returns. Now if you’ve published a book like I have, then you also get a 1099 from Amazon and all your book distributors. Remember you must account for gains and or losses on the exchange of foreign currency. You also have to account for the fees that they withhold, hopefully they give you a break down.

If you purchase books for events such as a book signing or other event, remember when you sell the books you are not to collect sales tax because Amazon has already charged you the sales tax a delivery fees. So don’t charge taxes again. Keep your invoices from Amazon that shows you paid those taxes so if you are ever audited by the city and or state, you have proof of payment and you don’t get charged again with penalty and interest. Keep all receipts of purchases in case of an audit, if you make this a business entity. I would create files for Office Depot, Staples, leasing companies, cell phone company etc. It would also help if you put on the receipt what the purchase was for.

When you do your Schedule C it is pretty straight forward and if you have complex issues I usually have to go to a Certified Public Accountant because of the foreign currency sales and value added taxes. I would much rather pay the $350 for my tax returns to be right than to owe. In the above picture is an old Schedule C from the 1040, which should be self explanatory when you have to do taxes. It is simple and straight forward. If not then you can always use ask a CPA function on Quickbooks and they will help you.

If you have any questions and can’t figure it out you can go the IRS office in your city and request help. They will be glad to assist you, because the last thing they want is for you to have errors on your return. I don’t go to the tax chains because they hire temporaries and students, who aren’t well versed in tax law and could end up costing you. If you really need help as your friends for recommendations.

I have an MBA in Accounting and Finance. I take my taxes to professionals because of the foreign currency issue. I use Quickbooks for my accounting, I just do the journal entries and my accountant does the rest.

I have stumbled across a neat bank account for small business owners. The name of the company is called FOUND. Once your account is open, you can record your transactions that you did before you opened the account, including your sales. Then as you spend money, you classify it by account and it keeps track of it and at the end of the year you have most of your year end totals to prepare your tax returns. Here is the link https://found.com/.

Here is an example of how my transactions are being tracked. I like this function. I kind of like this bank, even though I haven’t used my card for anything.

Like I said this is kind of ingenious of the bank and their marketing department. This banks is only for small businesses.

advice
1

About the Creator

Lawrence Edward Hinchee

I am a new author. I wrote my memoir Silent Cries and it is available on Amazon.com. I am new to writing and most of my writing has been for academia. I possess an MBA from Regis University in Denver, CO. I reside in Roanoke, VA.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.