Journal logo

My Journey as a Teen Business Owner (December 2022)

Blogging is just the foundation of what I hope my business will become someday soon.

By Allyson HowellPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
Like
My Journey as a Teen Business Owner (December 2022)
Photo by Kent Pilcher on Unsplash

Simply put, the time between the moment I realized I wanted to own a business and the moment I write this post can be described as nothing but a journey.

As a teenager, this journey may seem small. Or even be small. But for me, even just typing this post now feels like I'm stepping towards a major goal.

My major goal is to own a massive business. Of course, it's pretty typical. But I don't just mean massive financially.

I'm not striving for a business where we all crowd in a room to discuss the best way to profit. Or a business where product is prioritized over person. I'm striving for a business that values the emotion over the cost.

If it profits well, then sure. It's successful. But it's not truly successful until it makes the inspiration that causes change.

That's the motivation behind the words I'm writing now. It wasn't always this way, though. I hope I create a legacy that outlives me. That's my greatest goal.

I am a very, very hyperactive person. Because of this, my business vision has changed greatly throughout its planning stages, and that's okay with me.

Some days, it was going to be a bakery. Others, it was going to be a craft shop. Days in between decided it would be a museum, amusement park, restaurant, merchandise store, makeup brand, jewelry store, and many other things that I can't fully remember throughout the constant change.

Either way, I can only describe its adventure through thought process as a very beautiful mess.

Overall, I am really grateful for the shift in vision. Keeping a plan just for the sake of keeping it wouldn't make much sense, and change is good in this case since a 20-in-1 isn't really a possible business.

There were definitely parts leading up to this point that really stressed me out. Mainly, my concern was legal aspects of business where I live. As an inexperienced preteen, collecting information about business formation and taxes when I first got the idea was a massive headache. I almost didn't even start my business because I was so paranoid that I'd miss something important and get in a lot of trouble.

Fortunately, over the course of many years and planning stages, I've gotten over this fear and I rely more heavily on formation services to ensure I do what I have to.

So, even though my business was nearly terminated, I pushed through as you read this now.

My most recent business activity was, admittedly, a failure. But it taught me a lesson on how to accept that.

I created a Kickstarter for my business that didn't even come close to my goal. I spent around $200 on marketing and advertising, but it just didn't fund. I'm not afraid to admit that.

Of course, it was difficult to accept when it first happened. But business is all about failure, resilience, and progress.

There have been a lot of things trying to stop me, and all of them have failed. Things will try to stop me in the future, too, and I'm ready to take any one of them head-on.

So, that's where I am now. Writing this post. This post alone is the very beginning of my business.

I plan to make this a series, where every month or so I post and update on my business. I believe this would help me show gratitude and really stand back to see the full picture.

But the best part of this series is over the months, I'm excited to watch my audience grow.

If you liked this, please consider subscribing to my page or even leaving a tip. Your support means the world to me so thank you for reading!

business
Like

About the Creator

Allyson Howell

My name is Allyson Howell and I write about business, fiction, and everything related. I post monthly updates on the business side of my life, fiction, free verse poetry, and more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.