Journal logo

My Job Search Situation

Scenario and Update

By Iria Vasquez-PaezPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
1

I have a problem with my rib cage being painful and feeling like it is shifting side to side or something. This brace is often why I’m not hired right away. My knee is inching its way to better, give or take my rib cage situation as well. I find that the better I get, the more people will actually hire me, but I have to do a work from home gig for a while because I need to be able to work from home with my injuries in mind. All I need for two jobs is a headset. Rev.com demands I use a headset anyway.

I don’t have one. But see, I’m going to a study today and I will be making $400 by Wednesday. I’m neurotic already about the study, but well, I raised my meds, so I should be fine. The tapioca tea place within walking distance is hiring. I have to wonder if they would hire me as a private employer thing despite my rib cage brace and iffy standing up. I have to wonder how short I could keep the hours in that sort of job. I want to start my own Spanish-tapas/tapioca/ lactose-free bakery sort of place anyway.

Could it be a food truck, perhaps? I’m talented in the kitchen since the last time I attempted bread my dough rose and I made cornbread successfully as well. I can’t wait to work for a diner when my knee gets better. It is slow progress with that thing. I mean I can apply for a health coach job as well as anybody else can since I have extra money this month. I am applying to work from home gigs so as to keep my injuries under the radar.

When on an interview for brick-and-mortar, I feel as if they are staring at my rib cage brace. I mean because I still can’t do much in the way of sports right now, I go to the library to find books to read on a variety of topics. I am wary of my injury and real-world jobs. It is healing at its usual pace so I will be stuck working from home. Although I am capable of working outside of the house, I have also applied for jobs like a driving instructor, for example. I’m critiquing people’s driving on the road a lot.

This is because I know how to drive properly, give or take my car’s persistent tire problems. I’m able to get a lot done with my life these days, primarily because of infusion. GNC may hire me with my knee the way it is, but I’m not sure about this either. My knee is getting better day-by-day though. I’m doing fine with regard to my diabetes in general. I’m surviving because I’m in a study. I’m also working part-time writing copy. I have found they have more work on Textbroker to get done today. I’m not doing anything this morning as I have to take the bus to the study. I’m also going to pay for my insurance license eventually because I need to get a license in order to work for this company.

I’m able to interview for jobs, I just have trouble nailing it because of my obvious injury. I’m getting a lot better though. I mean, would I be happy as a line cook? Or would I be okay as a driving instructor? I don’t want to stress myself out. So I’m going to ease my way into a volunteering schedule just in case that can look good on my resume. Next week I plan on going to city hall and finding city council so that I can figure out what to volunteer in and how to run for office to replace the person currently in office, give or take I win an actual election this time around. But yes, I move forward, I press on, and I try my best.

career
1

About the Creator

Iria Vasquez-Paez

I have a B.A. in creative writing from San Francisco State. Can people please donate? I'm very low-income. I need to start an escape the Ferengi plan.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.