Journal logo

My Earning with 20k Views and 4k Reads per Article on Medium

My single article earning - I got a screenshot for you

By makelivingonlinePublished about a year ago 3 min read
My Earning with 20k Views and 4k Reads per Article on Medium
Photo by Igal Ness on Unsplash

You all are familiar with Medium payment terms. If someone is new to the site and doesn't know how Medium pays writers - let me introduce a bit about it. The Medium doesn't pay you from its pocket. You earn a small percentage from Medium membership when an enrolled person read your story. Medium calculates a percentage based on member reading time. However Medium pay rate is a bit higher than Vocal Media but the problem is you only can make money by engaging enrolled Medium members to your story. So in opposition to it, on Vocal Media because your articles hardly can rank on Google because the Vocal Media SEO system is not too good. In both platforms, a flaw is attached to every good feature, such as:

Medium Good Feature: The pay rate is high and it has a good SEO system. So, your story has a greater chance to rank on Google. But a flaw attached to this feature is even if you are ranked to Google Search Engine, still you will not get paid for external sources. You will only pay for member reading time.

Vocal Media Good Feature: Vocal Media's good feature is you get paid for views doesn't matter whether to views come from internal sources or external. If your articles rank on Google you can easily earn money. But a flaw attached to it is, Vocal Media by default SEO is not good so it's hard to rank your Vocal Media articles and get thousands of views.

The features mentioned above were important to discuss so that you better understand the main topic of this article.

So here I am gonna share what Medium pays for 40k views or 4k reads?

Screenshot by Author

I publish this article on my other Medium blog. After a month of publication, this article ranked on google. One day I was scrolling through the stats when I notice something different. When I saw extensive views on my post, the first click I do was to check whether my article is curated. I check it out but there was nothing like that. No curation no distribution. Then I found that my article is ranked on Google. It was still exciting. I go to check my earnings. This article was performing good as compared to many of my other articles but still, the earnings were not as expected.

Screenshot by Author

This is my Medium earning for this article. It's not one month's earnings. It's an all-time earning. This earning is because of the Medium member who referred to my post by Google search. Ranking your Medium article in Search Engine also serve good in certain aspect. Such as some time a Medium member comes to your post when the search for something on Google. They are not engaged on your post by Medium but by Google. As all Medium users search on Google for a certain thing, if your article is on the first page they will redirect to you on Medium.

What thoughts do I get after seeing these analytics?

The first thought I catch was if these all 4k reads would be from Medium internal sources then this article might generate $500 or more in a month. I had wished these 4k reads were from Medium member reads.

The second thought I catch was what if this article had ranked through Vocal.media. 40k views can generate $240 for this article as a Vocal plus member and $147 as a simple member. This article is also published on Vocal but it couldn't be ranked through that platform.

Final thought!

Whether you work on Medium or Vocal media, be consistent and work on your SEO skill. Even if your article ranked on Google through Medium, it serves good in another aspect. Like you can get more followers, and a small community of Medium members coming through Google to Medium. Don't stop posting on Medium or Vocal. Both sites have their own good and bad. But Medium is still amazing in many ways. Its pay rate is a bit higher than other writing sites and it's easy to use. Vocal is good in another way, that you can get paid only by building your SEO skill. I like both sites and I accept their cons along with pros. This is the key to surviving and succeeding on any platform. Accept it with all its advantages and flaws.

how to

About the Creator

makelivingonline

A passionate writer, freelancer, blogger, explorer, and learner. If you want to learn to survive in the online world—join me hear.

❦Freelancing ❦Blogging ❦EarningMoneyOnline ❦Writing

@makelivingonline

https://www.makelivingonline.blog/

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Ubaid Arshad about a year ago

    Nyc

  • KEVIN FRENCHabout a year ago

    Wonderful piece! I appreciate you for sharing your insights. As a newcomer to Vocal, this is definitely going to be useful for me. I focus on creating content around marketing, technology, and self-help, so please feel free to check out my articles and share your thoughts. Thank you!

makelivingonlineWritten by makelivingonline

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.