Journal logo

My Day Today

Personal Challenge by Mariann Carroll

By Tressa RosePublished 8 months ago 3 min read
1
My Day Today
Photo by Talia on Unsplash

So I asked for help the other day with some writing prompts to get my creativity going, Mariann Carroll suggested I write about my day as if I'm journaling.

That was about a week ago, and I had several very uneventful days being bored with long days at work.

But today was an exciting day for me, so I decided to use this as my day to do the challenge.

It all started with the saving up of a car. Yes I am 34 years old and have been carless for most of my adult life. Most of the time by choice. I was perfectly content riding the bus.

Well that is not so much the case for me anymore. I think age is getting to me, causing standing out in the elements for 20-60 minutes is really getting old!

And so my boyfriend and I decided it was time to invest in a vehicle.

I felt like a kid on Christmas Eve all night last night, tossing and turning, I was so excited!

I found one I liked from a dealership online a few days ago, and called them first thing this morning, and they still had it!

It was a 2006 Suzuki Grand Vitara, a nice deep red.

When we got there it was just as good-looking as it was online. I asked to do a test drive, expecting good things.

Let's just say I was let down.

There was some kind of a nasty rattle you could hear in the engine as soon as I started driving it. Sad!

So we started looking at the other SUV's that they had, and they had a decent selection. Well we found another one we liked, A 2006 black Nissan Murano, all leather seats, pretty freakin nice.

We decide that we want it, they then inform us that they have to do the emissions on it. So we wait a few minutes, they come back to tell us it failed. But that it should be a pretty easy fix. We would have to put money down to hold it while they fix it, and that could be up to 45 days.

No, thank you.

We decided to go check out a few more lots.

Nothing.

Okay, so at this point we were ready to settle. we went back to the dealership, and asked what else we would qualify in the same range. They said that was actually their best match.

I explained to him I did not have 45 days to wait as I am moving to a new place this week. He then asked me to give him until tomorrow to have the issue fixed. He told me if he could not get it fixed by the end of the day, that tomorrow he would work something out with us to get into a different car.

So we agreed and headed home. (Keep in mind each trip is an almost 20 dollar Uber ride).

As we were pulling into my neighborhood the dealership called and asked if we could come back in. So we turned right back around and went in. The man informed us that the problem would not be resumed by today, and offered in it's place a bright red 2004 Dodge Durango that COULD have been nice... If it didn't have fender damage, and a decently cracked winshield. He tried telling me it was even a thousand dollars more.

I test drove it, it just didn't feel right.

So I went back and asked him exactly how long we'd have to wait for the Nissan to be fixed. He told me it was a sensor problem. He asked me if I prefered the Nissan and I said yes. He had referenced us as nice people, and right then he got on the phone with the parts store, confirming they had the part availible, and then called his mechanic.

He told us to give him till tomorrow again. So we agreed and went home. A short while later I got another call from the dealership, informing me it had just returned from the mechanics shop, and had passed emissions.

My car was ready to be picked up.

So about 6 hours after our journey began this morning, we went and retrieved said car.

Now I have been searching for the best auto insurance quotes to fit my situation. It's a little pricey because I have not had insurance for quite a few years. I'm still super excited though!

It will be nice because it is going to make my life a hundred times less complicated. And I am gaining so much more time, it's crazy!

I appreciate you reading about my day, and letting me get the chance to complete my little personal challenge. Thank you again Mariann Carroll!

travel
1

About the Creator

Tressa Rose

On a serious self-discovering, soul-searching journey. Breaking myself out of a stagnant shell and reaching out for my dream of being a writer. Small steps but this is my start! Please help me by commenting your feedback, I'd be grateful!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.