Journal logo

My Cottage Industry (part 5)

Scheduling, Sick days, and no insurance... oh my!

By Taylor RigsbyPublished 4 months ago 3 min read
Like
My Cottage Industry (part 5)
Photo by Mel Poole on Unsplash

So at my last job, I only called in sick maybe a total of 3 or 4 times... I worked there for almost 8 years.

One thing I've always been very relieved by (and sometimes proud of) is the fact that sickness has never really touched me or my family while I was growing up. As far as I know, I don't have any food allergies, I can penicillin whenever I do get pesky ear-infections (which is the one blight that has followed me since childhood!), and, as far as I know, we have relatively few family illnesses in my household.

But, all that good luck aside, it doesn't change the fact that sickness can knock the wind out of your sails, anytime.

And if you're just starting out building a business - with no health-insurance provided now - it can put you in a real pickle.

One thing I do need to note for future record, is my absolute and burning disdain for the health-insurance system overall... we will circle back to that at a later date. Part of that loathing stems from the fact that there never seems to be an easy solution to acquiring your own if you're a free agent. At least, that's been my personal experience.

To compensate for that pitfall however, I decided to be proactive while I was still working a traditional 9-5. I always knew that one day I would want to spread my wings and level-up my side-gig into a full-time job, but I also knew that I would have to find my own way to cover any future health-problems. So, like any rational and complete not-paranoid person, I set aside an extra cache of money in my savings if (and when) I ever found myself without coverage.

And I'm so glad I did because, man, this current infection is kicking my ass!

The other downside one aspiring business-owner should prepare for is the inevitable havoc being sick will wreak on your schedule. Especially if you're starting out solo.

Commissions I received earlier, and could easily have knocked out by now, have had to be put off for a later date. In fact all of my work has needed to be put off. First, until I could find out what I had (not COVID again... thank God!). And then so that I could figure out a solution to treatment; despite having the savings for an emergency-scenario, no one knows better than me how quickly savings can be depleted if you're not turning a regular profit. So, naturally, being one with currently limited means, implies that you have to find some creative solutions with what you have over-the-counter.

And pray that your research is correct so that it doesn't turn into an emergency-scenario.

In this case specifically, I think I lucked out (knock on wood). I'm able to hoist myself into a standing position for more than 30 minutes now. Of course I can't deny the obvious, though: doctor's orders (specifically antibiotics) have done wonders for the pain in my ears and throat.

As of writing this entry, I'm 110% positive I can go back to work tomorrow (no rest for the weary, after all), and get at least 2 commissions done - maybe 3 if I pace myself properly. I'm guessing the infection won't be gone for at least another week (until I finish my antibiotics, that is), but at least my symptoms aren't bothering me as much anymore.

Honestly, a lot of that is just me: I hate the idea of not working when I know I should be working; that I COULD be working. I've never been the kind of person to call-in just because I'm not feeling well; I'm that kind of person (yes, sometimes a complete dumb-ass) who tries to find a way to work through the pain, because I know I've got people counting on me. And I'd hate to let them down.

I'm hoping that once I get my systems in better shape I'll be able to take on a little more work. Or rather, more steady, consistent work, because the periods of down-time are definitely not fun; they make me question every single life choice I have ever made up until now. And, hopefully, once I can get myself to a more consistent work schedule I'll be able to finance a more substantial health-plan for myself.

But until then all I can do is keep prepping the next steps for my overhaul, keep my clients informed, and finally kick this grubby little bastard out of my sinuses for the season.

I'm gonna need to make a Walgreen's-run. BRB.

- 1/5/24

industrycareerbusiness
Like

About the Creator

Taylor Rigsby

I'm a bit of a mixed-bag: professional artisan, aspiring businesswoman, film-aficionado, and part-time writer (because there are too many stories in my head).

Check out more of my "stitchcraft" at: www.rigsbystudio.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.