Journal logo

My Cottage Industry (part 3)

Accepting small victories

By Taylor RigsbyPublished 5 months ago 4 min read
Like
My Cottage Industry (part 3)
Photo by freestocks on Unsplash

You know, you never do forget your first… and the same applies to craft shows! I know I'll never forget mine, for a few different reasons: it was a sunny November Saturday (the 17th to be exact), it was organized by my parish's Catholic school, and I swear I never sweated so much in my life outside of going to confession.

But, like many other experiences, the nerves eventually gave way to excitement as more and more customers passed by my booth and found things they liked. I still remember the complete elation in realizing I'd almost sold-out of my crocheted ornaments by the end! And there was a moment when a group of girls walked by, saw the teddy bears I'd made, and one joyously professed: "Oh my God! My life has Changed!"

I still giggled about that one from time to time.

Now despite the sheer fun of the event, I still wouldn't call that show a big 'success.' At least, I didn't at the time. I still brought home a lot of the things I had hoped to sell, and didn't make much of an overall profit: just enough to cover the cost of entry and then some extra. But upon reflection with my parents later that same evening, I realized the experience I had gained from my first show was invaluable.

I learned how to organize, pack, and even make preemptive displays; I got to meet and chat with other vendors (which is always a great networking-tool by the way: good, old-fashioned conversation). I was better able to gauge my own pricing, which helped me figure out what was too high and what was too low. And I got some really great insight into the kind items that are most popular during the holiday season - you always think you know that part, until you get out of your head.

But more importantly, I was able to receive some much needed validation that my work was good. And, in some cases, not just good but "sublime!"

If there's one thing I've learned about being a "Creative" engaging in entrepreneurship, it's that sometimes I'm my own worst enemy. And that makes perfect sense when you think about: artists are most happy when they're busy making something they believe in; business-folks are most happy when they're busy turning a profit. And neither goal is inherently better or worse, when you get right down to it. Merging the two together, however, can be a little elusive at times, especially when you're more naturally inclined towards one.

For me that inclination falls towards creative expression; many of the things I make in my spare time between jobs are things I make just for the hell of it.

I didn't need to crochet a plushy lobster toy, but I did because I wanted to see if I could crochet a lobster toy. I didn't have to make an 18 inch cat-doll - I just needed to get rid of some yarn... and wanted to see if I could make the doll in my head. I didn't even have a real motivation for teaching myself how to work the Irish-Rose motif for a reticule... I was stressed-out that day and just needed to turn that part of my brain off for a couple of hours.

But, at almost no time during any of these musings, did the idea of money or profit enter my thoughts. And, as a result, I found I'd been (repeatedly) shooting myself in the foot for roughly my first 3 years in business.

The point I'm trying to make is that if you're a creative looking to burst onto the entrepreneurial-scene, then you must first be absolutely aware of your own worth. And, absolutely, stick to those guns whenever some tries to haggle-down your price (if it were really so easy then everyone and their cat would be doing it). At the same time, make sure you also understand the competition within your own industry. Research not just pricing from other vendors, but what customers are saying about a product and it's qualities. No matter how skilled you are at your craft, you'll never be able to please everyone... but if you must please someone, then make sure it's your consumers who are the happiest.

However, ultimately there is no substitute for some real experience. The only way you're going to be able to truly gauge your audience, your competitors, your whole industry, is by putting boots to the ground and getting your hands dirty.

I don’t know if that principle applies to every small startup, but I do know that it applies to mine. I’ve learned since that first fair that you have to take even the small victories and run with them. They may not seem important at the time but they certainly do make a huge difference in the long run.

While I have taken a hiatus from shows for a while (at least while I’m working on updating my systems), I know I plan to be back one day - my booth not much bigger but definitely better than before (and better than my first time!)

Edited- 12/26/23

industryhumanitycareerbusiness
Like

About the Creator

Taylor Rigsby

I'm a bit of a mixed-bag: professional artisan, aspiring businesswoman, film-aficionado, and part-time writer (because there are too many stories in my head).

Check out more of my "stitchcraft" at: www.rigsbystudio.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.