Journal logo

My Comfort TV Shows when Anxious

In these unpredictable times, I find it comforting to watch shows from when I was younger, to bring me back to simpler times.

By Kimmiekins4Published 4 months ago 4 min read
1

Anxiety and depression numbers have been on the rise recently. I do feel that this is partially due to the pandemic. I also feel that due to slowing down, and more awareness being brought to these disorders, it's helping people to realize that they may have been dealing with this for much longer than they knew.

I always thought that everyone felt the way that I did when it came to anxious thoughts, but it would seem there are people who do have anxious thoughts and can let go of them just as quickly as they came. I have many T.V. shows and movies that I will watch it really just depends on what kind of mood I am in. Sometimes it could be a more recent show, other times I will go way back into a random show from my childhood. In this post I am going to tell you a few of my favorites and why. Let me know in the comments what your favorite comfort shows are!

"You go it dude."

Alright so this one is taken it back to the 80s LOL. I was actually born in 1987, the same year the show aired, so like most from my generation we literally grew up with this show. This show was escape for me as a kid, as my family life wasn't that of a wholesome 80s/90s sitcom. It brought on safety and light in the moments when I felt like I didn't have none. Sometimes I will re watch for pure nostalgia, and to watch a show that feels carefree when the world becomes heavy for me as an adult. Also like most teens from my generation, we lived through the Mary-Kate and Ashley crazy which is another post in itself. This show will forever be a go to for me no matter how many times I watch it.

"This car is Dunzo."

I can practically hear all the sighs and see all the eye rolls with this one but hey I have guilty pleasures, and I do like some reality TV. Much like Full House this show came out around my junior year of high school. I moved to my moms house my sophomore year and at the time I was so mad about having to move there. I remember rushing home after school to make sure I could catch this show. I will re watch this one from time to time, it brings a since of comfort in both the innocence that high school felt for me personally. But also I have been reflecting on that time in my life and realize those were some of the best times of my life, the defined who I was. This probably sounds stupid to everyone but it's crazy that shows often like music can bring you back to certain times.

"The pen and paper has no judgment, no vote. It simply receives my truth and allows me to turn the page. And today this is my truth."

So many things to say about the beloved show! The time in my life in which I began watching SOA was such a crazy time. Of course what attracted me to the show to begin with was Charlie Hunnam (Jax Teller). What can I say I love bad boys! Once I actually got more into the show though I realized how well written it was and the acting as well. Every Tuesday night I was glued to my TV with a beer in hand. About a year or so after I began watching the show I became apart of a Facebook group and met a lot of like mined people that were obsessed with the show. One of the girls I am still good friends to this day. I was actually fortunate enough because of this Facebook group to be able to visit the Teller-Morrow set and meet the cast. A few months after that I was fortunate enough to attend Kim Coates charity event "Hogs for Hearts" and got to meet the cast again and help with an amazing cause. This show will always hold a special place in my heart, I will n0t however re watch season 5 episode 3 (if you know you know LOL).

These are just three of many shows on my list, but I didn't want to keep you too long. I think I'll add my comfort movies next and more of these later. Tv, movies, music, anything to do with the arts has and always will be my escape. I've learned to accept that about myself, some people like to watch sports or play sports to escape. I love escaping into other worlds. In a world this dark sometimes these comforts bring us light.

Vocaltv reviewmovie reviewlistcelebritiescareerartadvice
1

About the Creator

Kimmiekins4

I am a very creative person. I love reading, writing, listening to music, watching movies and shows. Writing has always been a way for me to express my feelings and thoughts. I'm excited to write some of my stories here on Vocal.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • The Dani Writer4 months ago

    Thank you so much for sharing.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.