Journal logo

More Things I have Discovered By Accident On Medium

I Am Just A Wanderer, Joyfully Lost On This Platform

By Matthew LeoPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Photo by Lum3n from Pexels

The Clappy Hands

Literally by accident (and I despise using that word, but here its almost a pun) I discovered something rather interesting about the clappy button (claps, applause, etc.) Until now, I have been blissfully ignorant of how the button actually works. If I wanted to clap for a particular piece, I would click the the clappy hands ( I just love saying clappy hands, don’t you?), the exact number of times I felt I would normally clap for something that excited me, or at the very least, earned my respect. I talk more about my ranges for giving claps in the link just below.

https://medium.com/drying-inkstrokes/great-things-i-have-accidentally-learned-about-the-medium-platform-69627a3a4603

What I didn’t know what that instead of clicking on the clappy hands and giving myself an acute case of arthritis and carpal tunnel, I could simply hold down my mouse button (mouse pad on my Macbook Pro), and the claps would just pour out onto the article like marbles. I’m sure others have already figured out this little tidbit, but for other newbies like myself, this could be a great timesaver when running though articles at our leisure. Thought it was worth a mention. ;)

By holding down the clappy hands the claps will accumulate without you having to click for each one.

The Stories Link

Recently, it seems Medium has updated its Stories link page, found in the 3 dots menu next to our profile pic in the upper right hand side of our draft pages. Until today, all of our responses have counted as published works, all mixed in together in the sauce with our articles and short-form pieces. Now, they have separated all of those responses under their own tab. Each tab (draft, published, and responses) each now have separate numbers beside each title denoting how many of each you have collectively in total. To be, this makes a lot more sense since it was counting responses as full articles and was very much skewing the numbers a bit. This give a much more accurate showing of how much is been published, and better still, shows how much we have been interacting with other content creators on Medium. It’s a win-win with this excellent update.

Your responses to other articles now have their own tab on the stories pages, separating them from stories you have published, and with their own count.

Summary Comments

Following the lead of one of the publications I have recently followed and had the fortune of having a poem accepted into, I noted that an excellent way to extend or add value to your content in your articles is to type a summary statement after each of your topics once you have completed fleshing them out. For example, if you look just above, I have a summary comment about the new response tabs. Its just a quick, no-nonsense sentence that brings the meat of what you are trying to convey right to the table. Once written, I selected the sentence and formatted it using the quotes option, twice to do a nice block quote. The upshot of this is that you are more likely to get these highlighted by your readers. I am not sure if this affects your pay for your article but I would think that it would keep your reader on the page for a couple extra seconds while they are highlighting, so perhaps it would be in your best interest to include these pull-outs. Even though it might only affect your reads time by a fraction, it is still a nice way of making it easier for your readers to digest your content, simply by getting to the point and pulling it out for them. Just I am about to do below:

Block quoting your summary can be beneficial to your reader, get you an easy highlight, and extend reading time to your articles.

That is all for now. Please check out my previous articles about our Medium for more useful information on how to navigate and excel on this wonderful platform. Take care and be well:

I Just Thought Of An Interesting Use For Highlighting On Medium

Great Things I Have Accidentally Learned About Writing For The Medium Platform

Essential Resources for Writing On Medium (or Anywhere Else)

social media
1

About the Creator

Matthew Leo

Matthew Leo is an Amazon self-published author of "Zombies Don't Ride Motorcycles". I have written over 200 poems, and written numerous articles. If you enjoyed any article please let me know with a heart & for more content please tip.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.