Journal logo

Minimum 600 Words Required Equals Maximum 600 Words

When You Are Not Giving It Your All!

By Marie LucienPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Minimum 600 Words Required Equals Maximum 600 Words
Photo by Alexandra on Unsplash

Yesterday, I started my journey of becoming a writer, or rather, I should say, 'a known writer'. Although I have been writing for eons, it took me some time before I could confidently think of myself as a writer. The reason for this is mainly because in my mind I could not claim the title if I had not been published or received income from the activity. Furthermore, when I joined Vocal in 2020, I vowed to put in enough work to at least earn back my membership fee. This did not happen and my confidence to consider myself to be a writer was reduced; however, when the Vocal membership automatically renewed, it was met with a renewal in my spirit to claim what I know that I am.

The time that elapsed made me forget that there was a minimum word requirement for submissions. I originally submitted a piece that was only 135 words; the minimum words required is 600. I wondered if there was a maximum number of words allowed.

The number of words required versus the number of words allowed may seem like the same thing, but they produce a different feeling.

When I became aware again that the minimum number of words required to have a story published is 600, it immediately became a goal to write stories that did not exceed the requirement. It's like my newest game, a game I would not be able to play if the maximum number of words was 600. If there is a maximum, I would challenge myself to reach it at least once, probably, depending on what the number would be.

As I suggested above, the wording of a word requirement produces different sentiments.

A minimum requirement (at least in this context) produced the desire to "just meet" the requirement. So much so in fact, that when I realized I had exceeded the word count for my first submission (third try) by 17 words, I was a little disappointed. Granted, for my second draft, the word count was exactly 600 words, but upon reviewing and editing, the word count grew. Since with the growth, the story came to the perfect stopping point that I wanted, I didn't hold on to the "just meet requirement" goal.

When a requirement is worded as [a number or less], it leaves me with a sense of control. I can almost say exactly what I want to say, how I want to say it and I don't have to wonder about filler words or phrases. My expression will probably be in its most genuine form, even though the maximum word aspect can feel limiting. If I can express my idea in even one word, that is okay. Superfantabuloso!

I feel I approach certain things in life with this same mindset. There are certain things that if presented with the option to do a minimum, that is all that I will produce. Admittedly, this is magnified in cases of things that I do not enjoy or find to be difficult. In most instances that I am doing something that I enjoy (or at least do not mind doing), my tendency is to put in the maximum effort -- more than what is required or expected.

If given a range of options where I can essentially mix and match my activities, I find a greater sense of enjoyment, coupled with a feeling of control. The most direct example I can think of is with employment. When given the option to choose the number of hours I work and the tasks that I complete, I am much more content, efficient and flexible.

career
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.