Journal logo

Me as a writer

why I like my job

By Lena BaileyPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
1

I recently had a career change and now I have the opportunity to be a full time writer. I had a corporate job but I wasn't happy and I wasn't really making an impact. I was just there to help the company make more money. I wasn't getting much out of it either besides a pay check and something to do. With the writing job things change and I can actually make a difference.

I know what you are thinking, how does a writer make a difference? I can write about things that matter. I have been writing about types of dynamics or relationships, true crime, paranormal and other topics. I try to teach people how to have better relationships. I also want people to have a good interactions with the paranormal world. I want people to know how to interact with the paranormal. I cover true crime to bring attention to the victims. I also write about current topics to bring people what they need to know, to bring information that matters to my readers .

I know I'm not changing the world or anything but I am bringing information and maybe some entertainment to my readers. People still like to read but now it's digital or online. I think that makes my work important and worth while. It's educational and maybe sometimes entertaining

It's also a dream of mine to be more independent in the job world and not rely on someone else for a career. Not everyone has a dream corporation that they want to work for or a dream corporate job. I also wanted something that was better for my mental health. With my old job there was a lot of pressure to perform at a really high level. Also I don't have the fear of getting fired or getting something bad on your HR file. Not everyone is made for a non corporate jobs just like not everyone is made for a corporate job.

Freedom is what I like the most about my job as a writer. There's so many types of freedom with this job. Freedom to do what I want when I want. Freedom to say what I want. Also I can sleep in and wear what I want. In Covid times I don't have to wear a mask. Also I don't have to clean anything that isn't mine so there's less to worry about. I can also write what I want when I want. I also have the freedom to see my friends and family whenever I want. If I don't want to work on certain days then I don't have to. Setting my own schedule is a huge draw.

At my old jobs I missed a lot of family events or obligations. Now that I'm a writer I can go to an events my family or friends have. No more guilt or anger my family and no disappointing my friends.

I also think being a writer is better for my mental health and my happiness. I don't have conflict or negative energy around me. I get to choose who's around me and what energy that brings. I can also take breaks from writing if it gets to be too much.

One of the comments I get all of the time is being a writer or content creator isn't going to make me rich. I don't need to be rich, I just need to be able to take care of my bills and maybe to have some fun. People are so focused on money but my mental health and happiness means more to me than money.

I hope that you enjoyed this look in the perks of being a writer and what I like about being a writer.

career
1

About the Creator

Lena Bailey

Georgia born writer. Specializing in dating and true crime

If you have any questions or comments please email [email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Phil Redmond2 years ago

    I would say that you ARE rich in the sense that you have peace in your life and a way to support the life that you choose to live. You have the freedom to express yourself without fear of workplace judgment. Your return on your investment of time comes back to you richly in the form of relationships with like minded people that you have given your time and effort to and that energy comes back to you threefold. You are the rich on in this world today for you have things that most never have. Relationships and peace.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.