Journal logo

Make Sure You Don't Forget This When Selling

Selling is about creating emotion, not about having perfect techniques!

By Loredana EgriPublished 7 years ago 5 min read
Like

Selling is something common in our days. Every time we search for a job we see that many of the available positions are sales related.

Because the demand for sellers is so high and in the same time companies need results very fast, sometimes they have no other way than accepting candidates that don’t always possess all qualities that are needed for doing this job well.

That’s why we consumers sometimes have to deal with unprofessional salespeople!

The following scenario was created in order to inform you about two important aspects of sales:

  1. The basic selling steps
  2. The importance of the emotional part in the process of selling

Now let’s imagine the following scenario:

You are an excellent salesman who wants to sell me his product.

You’ve documented so well about me and my company that now you know it better than my own employees.

You are tenacious and have a clear goal: to make me your client.

As a professional you are, you prepare your land in great detail:

  1. You know that the best time for approaching me it’s until 10 AM.
  2. You manage to capture my attention from the first seconds by making me understand that I will have positive results if I take the call with you.
  3. You blow away any mistrust I have by informing me that we have a common friend.
  4. You make me think you have respect for my time by letting me choose the date for our meeting.
  5. At the meeting you behave exemplary:
    • You announce the doorman that we have a meeting and you don’t forget to mention my name (with this detail you surpassed 70% of all those I’ve met. They didn’t manage to remember my name more than the first call).
    • You don’t make use of the painting behind me like all the sellers before you. You know how to start an interesting discussion, using themes that you know I am attracted to like evolution, science, psychology, etc.
    • You repeat my name constantly to enliven the discussion.
    • Discreetly you manage to identify the products I’m using now and even the slightest sign of dissatisfaction that I’m having with the current supplier. It is normal for you to know these things, you must have something around what to build your saving solution
    • Very skillful, you make me tell my vision about how the ideal service should be. Of course, you don’t miss the opportunity to strengthen the idea in my mind: “And if you had all that, would you be willing to change the supplier?” Of course, you do not let yourself beaten until I say “yes.” You know that a person of honor like me won’t change on a promise made
    • You write everything down in your agenda in order to see how organized, interested, and a real professional you are.
    • The bidding moment is a true mastery: you built everything based on each word I said. You haven’t forgotten any detail that I said it was important to me. You snatch me three consecutive yes's and then ask me with a seeming innocence, “Would there be anything else? I think I managed to cover all aspects right?” There was nothing else to be missed, you noted every word of mine and also made sure to use every bullet in the negotiation. You just waited triumphantly for my answer..

But surprisingly you forgot something! You focused so much on the perfection of execution that you forgot what was most important:

Selling is about creating emotion!

You made sure you’re doing everything right with the techniques, and I confirm that on this part no one can overtake you, but a true professional would not have neglected the emotional part.

Let me tell you how things were from my perspective:

  • It was a day like any other, things were as usual.
  • When you called me, I realized very fast that you are a professional because your speech was perfect in the smallest detail.
  • Even though I know how to control my emotions, this discussion negatively charged me, that’s why I decided to know you in person.
  • At the meeting, I wanted to find out if the negative feeling you left me was caused by a punctual situation you had in that day or was something recurrent for you. And unfortunately for you, I found out that this is the way you are always. Behind perfect techniques and nice language, I could feel a pressure that I couldn’t figure out where was coming from, the job itself or from your personal life, but the one thing I know is that you were sending it towards me and this is a very serious issue!

We don’t want to collaborate, associate or buy from persons who negatively charge us, no matter how well trained these persons might be!

So remember, if you have perfect techniques but somehow you leave a negative feeling behind, your time was wasted. Nobody wants to talk with people who are consuming their energy, but everyone wants to speak with people who are charging them with energy! The rhythm of our life is so full of obstacles that we really need every piece of energy.

Dear vendor this is where you did wrong, you lowered my energy level, instead of raising it or even leaving it as it was.

And so you know, for me it’s perfectly fine to work with other suppliers even in weaker conditions than yours if they manage to grow my energy level. Do you know why? Because having high energy level it’s far more important than saving some money with contracts like yours, while this energy will bring me plenty of brilliant ideas for raising my business. Yes, when the energy is high all business goes well, any business man knows that!

P.S. — In case you can’t understand what you’ve done wrong and what this positive energy thing is, please keep in mind only one thing: if you manage to leave the person in front of you more enthusiastic and happier than it was before talking with you, it means you have done your sales job perfectly!

I hope I managed to be useful!

advice
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.