Journal logo

Looking Back On Fifteen Years Of Writing Online

How Online Writing Has Changed Over the Years.

By Brenda FluhartyPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like
https://pixabay.com/photos/computer-laptop-technology-keyboard-768608/

Looking Back On Fifteen Years Of Writing Online

I can hardly believe it was 15 years ago, I started writing online. Things were very different back when I started writing online. The lengths of articles and views on poetry have changed. I have changed my writing style over the years. I have learned so much over the years from other writers. Here is looking back at fifteen years of writing online.

When I first started writing online. I started by joining a few writing sites: Helium and Squidoo were my first two. This was an enormous deal for me. I started off by sharing my poetry and short stories. I was so worried people would not like them. I soon discovered there were many other writers that felt the same way about their writing. I did find my audience.

I have wanted to be a writer all my life. People criticized me for having this dream. When I was 20, I lost the only person who believed in my writing, my grandfather. Sadly, after his death, I slowly stopped writing. I became a wife and mother. I was a stay at home mom, but I wanted to work. I still loved writing. I wanted to see if I could make money writing. I did some research, and I found Helium and Squidoo. That was back in 2005. My son was six years old.

I started posting my poetry on both sites. After a while, I got to know some writers, and they taught me how to write articles. I started writing articles on things I enjoyed. Over the years, because of writing sites going under, I started blogging.

Looking Back On Fifteen Years Of Writing Online How Article Writing Has Changed Over The Years

https://pixabay.com/photos/office-notes-notepad-entrepreneur-620817/

Article writing has changed a lot over the years. When I first started article writing a suitable length for an article was 300-500 words. This was a suitable length for me because I was not confident in my writing ability. I also lacked in my editing skills. All I used was the spell and grammar check in my writing program.

Today the average length of an online article is 5,000-21,000 words. Thank God, you need not write articles that long. To have an article show up in search engines, articles should be between 600-700 words. That’s great for me because if I wrote an article that was 21,000 words, it would take me a month to edit it. You should have links to other articles in any and every article you write. This helps with showing up on search engines.. This is something I learned from a class on SEO writing.

My article writing skills have improved over the years. I went from hardly knowing what to do to being able to write and post articles. I have taken quite a few free and paid writing courses to help me improve my skills. Never stop trying to improve your skills. There is always something new to learn.

Looking Back On Fifteen Years Of Writing Online How Writing Poetry and Short stories has Changed

https://pixabay.com/photos/entrepreneur-startup-start-up-woman-593357/

Poetry and short story writing have changed a lot over the years. Or maybe I have just discovered these changes. I am not sure which is right. When I first started writing all I did was post my poetry and short stories. With many writing sites shutting down over the years, poets and story writers make blogs to share their work.

There is no lack of ideas for ideas for writing short stories and poetry. There are thousands of prompt generators out there. There are also writers who offer prompt and challenges to help you with writing ideas. There are also many writing contests out there. Some you can even make money. I love doing these types of writing. There was a time when I never used writing prompts, but they can be very helpful.

Looking back at fifteen years of writing online. The writing world has changed a lot. One thing that has not changed is the wonderful, supportive writers out there. There is always someone willing to help you and support you. That is why I will never stop reading and writing.

career
Like

About the Creator

Brenda Fluharty

Brenda Marie Fluharty is a Spiritual Life Coach, dream interpreter, a past-life therapist, energy healer, a freelance writer, blogger, poet, art lover, pet owner, and author. She has studied several Spiritual practices.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.