Journal logo

Life Expectations, Missed Opportunities, and Staying Positive

Life can be hard and sometimes plans don't go well, but you should always believe in yourself.

By Carmen AmbrizPublished 6 years ago 4 min read
Like

My Life Expectations

When I graduated from high school, I had high hopes and dreams. My biggest dream was and still is to become a veterinarian. But college is just so hard for some people.

Right after graduating, I got an opportunity to attend a four day program at UC Merced. While staying there, I received lots of information on what I needed to do to transfer to the university of my dreams.

Then, two months later, I started college. I wasn't successful at all in my first semester. I didn't pass my classes and as a result, I was put on academic progress probation. Now, I owe the school money and can't attend until all the money is paid back.

It has also been so hard to find a job since I graduated from high school. I got a job last year at a restaurant but only worked there for a month. Then for reasons unknown, I was fired. That made me feel like I am not good at anything and that's the worse feeling ever.

Adult life is hard and yes, I hate it. I'm pretty sure people like me who are struggling to get our stuff together hate being adults. But, I haven't given up.

Missed Job Opportunities

I have applied for jobs but haven't been successful finding one, obviously because of things like insecurity, transportation, and no support from loved ones.

I have been applying and applying and applying nonstop. They either call and then reject me, or email me a rejection. It really feels horrible knowing that lots of people I went to school with have had lots of jobs already and me nothing.

Some of the places I have applied for are McDonalds, Chipolte, Kohls, and Target. I got interviews and then rejections after the interviews. Target rejected me right after turning in the application.

I have had lots of missed job interviews. Well, the most obvious reason for that would be transportation. I don't have a car and in these days you need a car for pretty much everything. For my very first job interview, I didn't have a ride and I had to miss it.

Insecurity has also been an issue. I have little experience in mostly everything. The little experience I have is as a waiter. I only worked for a month. After one month of working I got fired. I got fired without an explanation. The only thing they told me was, "Don't show up to work until we call you."

One of the things I feel like I have needed the most is support from those who are close to me. For example, if I wanted to work in fashion, my dad would tell me that that would get me no where. That's why I feel like I don't have "support." They wouldn't approve of me working in a certain department.

Having no way to get where you need to go is really hard. When I had a job, my dad would have to take me or leave me the car to get there. Having his support is what I needed the most and also I need to be more possitive about myself and not be so insecure.

Staying Positive

Even though you probably had some struggles in life, remember to stay positive all the time. Everything will be alright. Just because you lost your job doesn't mean you can't get another one. Keep applying and something will come up.

Something you should never do when applying for jobs is expect the job right then and there. Don't expect to get the job the minute you turn in an application because it does not work that way. You don't get what you want, you earn it.

When I went to Indiana to visit my cousin, I wanted to work while I was there. It was the same as California; nothing ever came up. He was really pushy. Something you don't want when looking for a job is for a person who is close to you to be so pushy. It's not easy to get a job. It's hard and that person who is helping you needs to be patient because wanting to work is not going to get you the job. Deserving the job is what is going to get you the job.

Being patient is the most important thing about getting a job. You're not going to get a job right when you turn in an application. Some places are not even going to call you so patience is the key. Keep applying and even if you attend an interview, keep applying because just having an interview does not guarantee you a job.

I had a job for a month. A month is not the period of time I expected to be working, but at least I got something, and I'm happy about it. At least it was a job and gave me some experience. How did I get the job? By being confident in myself and of course, being POSITIVE.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Carmen Ambriz

I love to gossip and just talk about non sense.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.