Journal logo

Life after Game of Mass Destruction

Rambles of an indie author

By Chloe GilholyPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
2
Hardcover and paperback of my 10th book and third novel, Game of Mass Destruction

I've written quite a lot of stuff about my novel Game of Mass Destruction already but I wanted to talk about some new things among other things that didn't really fit into other articles I have written about my own novel. In my last post on Vocal, I said that I had sent copies of my book to fan mail addresses to a few celebrities that I really admired for their work.

This time I want to talk about some of the characters. I feel that the characters are the most important part of the story. I have written Game of Mass Destruction as fan fiction before it became an official novel with original characters. With the book finally out for sale on Amazon and Lulu, I feel that there's a part of my life that's over. I don't know what I will work on next after this book. There are some other books and fanfics that need finishing but I don't have the urge to write them at the moment.

It seems I'm not alone with being lost to write during this pandemic. Every other writer that I've spoken to have said the same thing. I sorta miss the journey of making this book now that I've reached the destination.

Maybe I could do a sequel. Maybe I'll seek more feedback. Maybe I'll try and see how many books I can sell or try to take it to the next level and get it into physical stores and libraries. I won't lie... it would bu nice.

I was really into shipping couples in shows, books and games. I still am, to be honest, but not as much as I was back then. I find it really hilarious that Bobby and Todd get shipped a lot. It's an unlikely couple: a priest and a gym junkie that likes to sleep with lots of women. Even though they're different and seem incompatible they are great friends and I think that's why a lot of readers ship it.

I did once try and write a story where Bobby and Todd got together and I couldn't get it to work. Even though I can't see Bobby and Todd getting together in my canon, it's nice to see that some Wattpad readers ship them. Seeing comments like that makes me want to set up my own fanfic contest just to see how many will write Bobby x Todd stories.

Bobby is still one of my readers' favourite characters. He goes through a lot. In my book, Fishman we get to meet his amazing grandfather and his grandfather was one of my favourite characters to write about. I wish I mentioned Lucas Fishman in this novel.

There are some characters who get what they deserve in the novel and there are some that deserved a lot better, but that's the life I guess. One of the most satisfying scenes to write is when the evilest ones get their karma.

I tried filling in an in-depth OC survey that I found on Tumblr. I felt like I was repeating myself hen I was talking about Yuzuko on it. At first, I didn't think there was much of me in her but now I can see Yuzuko and I do have a lot in common. We both love matcha and cute little things, but we both also fear losing things and we were very close to our grandparents.

One character that I was surprised at how well she was liked was Mariangela. I guess she's just a human who makes mistakes.

It weird that even though the novel is published, I still want to go back and add more scenes and texture to it. It's out of my hands now. Once it's out there I think it should be up to the readers to figure out the symbolism.

career
2

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.