Journal logo

Just Soft Launched My New Podcast

Tarot Talk with Nicole H Chiu

By Nicole CPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
Podcast Image Rights: Nicole H Chiu

My friends, I’ve started a Podcast. (Yes, like the tens of thousands of others out there)…

This isn’t my first attempt at creating or curating a Podcast - I’ve previously worked on them in a corporate job. But it is the first time that I’m doing this for me. I’m the brand. I’m the editor. I’m the producer. I’m the sound person. I’m the only one involved here.

And it is different to a corporate podcast project - I most certainly do not have access to the same corporate credit card that I previously had the luxury to utilize.

No, this is the lowest of the low possible budget Podcast.

I ordered a microphone from Amazon for less than $100.

I found, through YouTube keyword searches, a completely free audio editing platform: Audacity.

I was inspired, by listening to Apple Podcasts and an ad for Acast started introducing me to the platform, which I later on visited and signed up. It’s free, that’s all that mattered to me. (Yes, there are more perks with other membership tiers, but to start off with, the most basic membership is free).

That sounded good enough for me. In my previous corporate role there was monthly subscription fees to other hosting and recording platforms. I knew I wasn’t going to start a Podcast if it was going to cost more fees.

I have minimal capital to invest here.

I knew what I wanted to say - in previous attempts at content creation, I had tried to niche down with my passion for divination - tarot and oracle card readings. Intuitively interpreting messages from the shuffling of cards, and applying them to the twelve zodiac signs.

It’s a very basic template that many readers use - you can see them and all their playlists set out similarly on YouTube.

Personally, I work with the Full Moon and New Moon energies (perhaps another day’s story). It’s a part of my whole eclectic Witch journey…

So anyways, I felt like mushing it all together, and then birthed my new Podcast for this year. 2023 resolutions. I wanted to launch a Podcast.

Artwork? Canva.

Blurbs? With the help of Chat GPT.

Episode structure, outline, concept and frequency? Intuitively pencilled in.

Plus many hours of free YouTuber podcasting advice. I never clicked further into any of their paid courses, just took what I could for free. (I always “like” and/or comment to show some form of support and gratitude).

So I’ve now pencilled this into my diary. A bi-weekly (fornightly) podcast that I’m working towards.

The greatest thing is scheduling. You can schedule podcasts, so you can stay ahead of each episode’s release date if you’re organised enough, and not get too overwhelmed with production schedules. It’s a little bit more complicated if you have guests, as that is often where you get tied up in back and forth admin about when, how, guidelines and agreements.

For me, right now, it’s just me and my Tik Tok live.

I’ve set it up with the microphone attached to the laptop, and well, it’s not even a requirement to film simultaneously on Tik Tok, but I do to share more content.

This is just the beginning. The more episodes I start producing, I’m sure I’ll have more to reflect.

Also - throat lozenges. That is something I’m finding, with all this content creation and constant talking, I’m needing to invest in!

If you'd like to listen to my podcast, you can find it on:

  • Apple
  • Spotify
  • My podcast website

workflowindustryhow tocareer
Like

About the Creator

Nicole C

Writing sporadically... I tried some challenges but never won anything. Sometimes my poetry helps me process whatever has been going on... sometimes it is pure fiction. Sometimes I like to write about pop culture and astrology.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.