Journal logo

Joy in Writing Fiction

A Glimpse into My Inspiration and Creative Process

By TestPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Photo by Anna Turnitsa

An activity I find happiness and joy in is writing fiction. The inspiration behind my creative process comes from the comfort I had found in reading Danielle Steel novels after a traumatizing experience. I found a kinship with the author through her stories. Although her stories are fiction, they touch on the less joyful aspects of life; a dash of sobering reality when one is caught up in doing errands, shopping, and pleasing the senses.

The recalling of feeling like a scarecrow, twelve years ago, is what inspired the title of my current work in progress – The Scarecrow’s Invitation. I further dug into my creativity by watching the film Batman Begins. The Scarecrow is the villain in this film. Two lines, in particular, that resonated with me from this movie are: “Why do we fall?” “So we can pick ourselves up again." These lines are helping me with the creation of the main character in my work in progress.

Photo by Aleks Magnusson

My work in progress was sparked by a scene that reminded me of The Shawshank Redemption - after I zoomed into the scene. That is, when I took a closer look at the characters and action within the scene, I recalled the movie. From this, I've gathered that my inner creative process uses material from outside sources. Then, when the material is combined with my personality and experiences, stories with themes, characters, scenes, and plots that are meaningful to me are expressed through stories.

Part of my creative process involves a writer’s journal that is dedicated to the story I’m working on. I put anything into it that relates to either my story or supports my creativity. For example, the title of songs I listen to while creating and coffee spill stoppers, which I stick into the journal while I'm out at a café writing. Another aspect of my creative process involves printing sections of the story I’ve typed into MS Word, cutting sections from the typed and printed pages with scissors that need elaboration, and gluing them into the journal.

My creative process starts with paper and pen. When I become blocked, I type what I have written into Word, then, print and read it. I find it easier to read the typed print than my handwriting; it keeps me organized. When writing in the journal, I use symbols to connect where I want to add thoughts or ideas. For example, an “x” inserted into the printed section, I glued into the journal, tells me to locate the matching “x” within the journal pages. The two symbols connect and organize my story.

My creative process is helped with walks in the park. Since I live in a metropolitan area, it allows me to feel a sense of order in the busy chaos of city life. Moreover, while I was studying Liberal Arts in college, I discovered that studying was aided by walking. That is, I would have my textbook open to the information I wanted to absorb while standing and walking about.

For me, learning and creativity are interconnected. I like to read aloud what I have written. Reading aloud is an element of the learning process, for me. I find that it helps me appreciate and feel confident with what I've crafted. I, also, find that reading other writers' pieces are helpful. This gives me new ideas and thoughts to consider. It's self-esteem building when I gain a new understanding of someone else's perspective, which in turn supports my creative endeavors.

All in all, my creative process is both practical and intrapersonal. As Natalie Goldberg states: "Real writing comes from the whole body." It is also important to trust both the learning and creative processes because writing can be therapeutic as well as cathartic. A writer's journal is a helpful tool. It's a place that allows for imperfections and the organizing of thoughts and ideas.

art

About the Creator

Test

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Test is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

TWritten by Test

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.