Journal logo

Journal Entry: Sun. Feb. 13th 2022

The Thoughts and Times of Scott A. Vancil

By Scott A. VancilPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

Sunday February 13th 2022

At 5 AM I wake up for a moment, and Shelby turns to reach for the window. She turns back.

"Shelby, are you okay?"

She nods her head quickly.

"Shelby, are you sleeping?"

She nods her head yes.

She curls her arm around in a really strange angle and holds my hand. She squeezes it. A few moments later she has a big grin on her face and kind of does a shimmy. Shivers and shakes. I asked her about it later, and she doesn't remember doing any of this.

I wake up, do the dishes, and take out the trash. Shelby has a COVID test for work in 45 minutes. I guess I'll make pancakes after she gets back. She has a vegan Vietnamese coffee she got at Besties. I make myself a cup of Robusta Coffee from Nguyen Coffee Supply and put it in my Z's Divine Espresso Mug.

One of my English Sonnets, Latch, just dropped on Vocal, so I am posting everywhere on Social Media. I check my business sites and see if I have any messages.

Shelby comes home, and I make Vegan Blueberry Cinnamon Pancakes with Birch Benders Micro-Pancakes Pancake and Waffle Mix, Organic Classic, as I listen to Mark Morrison's Return of the Mack on Spotify. We feast. I have a banana and a mandarin orange as well.

I do the dishes again, while Shelby watches Jessica Jones, after which I grind up some coffee and make Shelby some Cold Brew with The Organic Coffee Co.'s Zen Blend.

I shower with an apple cider vinegar, 2-n-1, Head and Shoulders Shampoo/Conditioner, because they were out of green apple scent. I use a bar of soap called Man Bar that smells like Taco Bell's meat seasoning. I then smother myself with body wash: Pomegranate and Mango. After rinsing I rinse my hair. I dry and comb my red beard with its elegant white streaks.

Shelby and I go to fetch some Vegan Grub for the big game. We try to get cauliflower wings at Sage Vegan Bistro, but it doesn't work through their app, so we just pop over to Vegan Exchange LA in NoHo's Arts District. I'm not into Football, but I am into food. Shelby grabs some Philly Cheesesteak Rolls from Vegan AF's Foodtruck. I order a 15-piece hot wing set from Centric Eats' truck, made with King Oyster Mushrooms. While I wait I get a Nitro Cold brew and Pistachio Donut from The Donuttery truck. I pop over to California Coffee Co. to get two bags of beans for my show Java Junkies, airing every Monday at 8 AM Pacific on YouTube on the Scott Vancil Channel. Because of the wait Centric Eats was nice enough to give us some Macaroni Salad. We eat the Philly Rolls there and take the rest to go.

I finish my coffee and eat all the mac and a lot of the wings. Shelby is too full, so we put the rest in the fridge. The game has started. I live in LA, but I'm rooting for the Bengals. They've always been my favorite team since I was a kind, even when they were considered the worst team ever. I just like their helmets. And I like tigers. I root for the team with the best uniforms and mascot.

I grind some Java Break, Mexican, Finca La Chiripa and use our Keurig and Eco-Fill cup to brew right into my Z's Divine Espresso Mug. Not Larry David in a Crypto commercial. We've lost all our heroes to this madness.

I didn't expect to like the Halftime show, but honestly I do.

I swear Crypto has official made commercials the worst part of the Superbowl. I get myself the last Dragon's Milk Stout I have to sip on. This game is boring as shit and the commercials suck, but we did get some cool trailers. I'm gonna love this LOTR series so hard. I want to see Galadriel fight a Balrog. Better yet tame and ride it. Lmao I don't care if it's not in the books. Also just based on the trailer I'm sure that Doctor Strange in the Multiverse of Madness is going to be my new favorite MCU movie. This phase is just so consistently good and only gets better.

My Bengals are winning.

It's close now though. Time for the hard stuff. Getting out the Balcones Texas Single Malt Whisky, Rum Cask Finished. I fill my Glencairn pretty fill. A full bulb.

The Bengals lost. It's kind of a win-win for me. If the Bengals had won than my favorite team hand won. But the Rams won, which means my home team won. Either way I win. But also I don't care about sports, so I guess I lose? And also win?

We start watching the Winter Olympics. Bobsledding. Shelby gets high and then takes a shower.

She starts watching Euphoria, and I do what I do every time she watches Euphoria, which is put headphones on, listen to music, and wait for it to go away. I listen to Von Kaiser's Ghosts of Miami and then Bright Eyes' A Collection of Songs Written and Recorded 1995-1997. I journal for a while and write a bit in my novels.

Then we watch cross-country skiing.

We both go to bed, because we've got an early day tomorrow.

That's it.

That's Sunday, February 13th 2022

pop culture
Like

About the Creator

Scott A. Vancil

Writer/actor/director. Founder Stained Glass Eye Productions. Pansexual/Schizoaffective/Feminist/Vegan. On YouTube and Patreon. I write poems, novels, short stories, comic books, and screenplays in both standard form and iambic pentameter.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.