Journal logo

Jessica Garza –Nomadic Work Hacks I Use

First things first, your gear – needs to be optimized. Go for lightweight and multipurpose devices only. Whether it’s a laptop, adaptor, or portable charger – keep things light so that you are able to carry them wherever you go.

By Jessica GarzaPublished 12 days ago 3 min read
2

I’ve been a digital nomad for a long time now. I know what it’s all about, the ins and the outs, the pros and the cons. It’s all about blending the traveling part with the work part and at the same time maintaining productivity and enjoying new experiences.

However, to do so, you’ve to be smart, and a little hacky. You’ve to nail the tech nomad lifestyle. I’ve got some hacks that help me do it.

First things first, your gear – needs to be optimized. Go for lightweight and multipurpose devices only. Whether it’s a laptop, adaptor, or portable charger – keep things light so that you are able to carry them wherever you go.

Given that connectivity issues are a huge deal when it comes to wandering places while also working, having a global Wi-Fi modem is a must. I have the same. I use one provided by Nomad Internet.

Learn more about my nomadic work toolkit: The Best Nomadic Work Toolkit in My Opinion — Jessica Garza

The next thing is productivity. Ah! That’s one of the things that gets sucked up while you’re on the go. Time zone management suffers. Concentration is something that’s hard to maintain. And the focus also gets distributed. To hack it up, I use time zone management apps such as World Time Buddy. Also, I use productivity apps such as Slack, and Focus@Will for concentrating on my work. Personally, it has helped me a lot.

One of the biggest things to take into consideration is the place you choose for work. Not every place is good. Not every place allows you to focus. Working on a beach once in a while is okay but you can’t do it every day. You know what I mean. So, what I do is wherever I am, I try to find a co-working space nearby or maybe a café or a library where I can do the most important work of the day peacefully, with full concentration.

When it comes to accommodations, I try to find long-term stays. I book it from Airbnb. Great deals are available on it. Also, long-term stays are easy to find, especially in rural areas.

Make sure to be safety while traveling as a digital nomad. Carry travel insurance. It’s important. It’s really valuable as it covers health, accidents, and theft that protects you in unforeseen situations.

Another good thing that I do is that I keep both physical and digital copies of important documents such as my passport, visa, and insurance policy – just to make sure that I have access to them in case of emergency or loss.

Learning basic local languages are a big help. It’s a great hack. I do it to greatly enhance my experience in a new place. I use apps like Duolingo or Rosetta Stone are excellent resources for picking up basic phrases that can help me navigate day-to-day interactions more smoothly.

The best hack of mine is the way I strive to keep myself healthy. Get some sun as soon as you get out of bed. A brisk walk after that would be the cherry on top. Do some light physical exercise of any form for half an hour daily. This will keep your mindfulness at an optimum level.

The reason I am so inclined towards physical fitness is that it helps, especially while you are working. You’re more active throughout the day, stress is low, and you won’t face any anxiety or panic attacks in your life.

That’s how I hack my digital nomad lifestyle. Little things make a big difference. Just make sure to keep things minimal. Less is more.

Your one and only Jessica Garza. Peace out.

business
2

About the Creator

Jessica Garza

Meet Jessica Garza, the driving force behind Nomad Internet, where she serves as the Chief Operating Officer.

Reach Us At: https://nomadinternet.com/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.