Journal logo

It's Been A While

I'm back after a long time.

By Michelle HillPublished 12 months ago 3 min read
Like
A New Day

It's been a long time since I've been on here.

But let me catch you up.

I have officially left the reasturant industry. Let's start there.

So, around August/September of last year I walked out of my job. Working three weeks straight no day off. One day off, if I was lucky. The kicker was, I had just gotten a root canal, and of course wanted to pamper myself with a haircut. Well, during that haircut, I get a phone call from my general manager.

He tells me that the closer called out. I just so happened to mention that the schedule went out thirty minutes ago and he called out. My manager noticed that too. I told him it was my first day off in three weeks and that I just had surgery on my mouth. Mind you, I was in the middle of a freaking haircut.

That was the last straw for me. The day before I walked out I went to a wedding with a girl I liked, (That's a whole other story). Had a great time. The next morning I called in saying I was going to be late. I just had enough. During those ten minutes I applied for at least twenty different jobs. After those plans were set in motion I went into work. Just not wanting to be there.

Halfway threw my shift the owner asked what was wrong. I broke down and told him that he has me running three departments, no days off, and a bunch of "kids" that keep asking me for more hours; but also not having enough, or calling out all the time. That was my breaking point.

He gave me the whole, "I appericate you" speech, but I told him I was promised just to focus on my department, not the others. He told me he would fix it by the end of the day.

I finished what I had to finish but I was working a double with no break. I told the two line cooks that came I need to take a ten. That was when I started weighing my options. I went outside, saw missed calls, and text messages from my GM asking me what was wrong. He said he was trying to find someone. I shook my head and said they weren't gonna do it and I've done it time and time again.

I went back inside and just stood there in back with my arms crossed. Again, just thinking of my options. It was then one of my co-workers asked what was wrong and I said the two fatal words, "I quit." I grabbed my stuff and he tried to stop me. I told him to clock me out and I just walked.

I called my sister at the other location and told her I walked. She told me to meet. On my way to the other location, everyone was calling, I was in tears, I just couldn't answer their calls. I gave them six years of my life and I was just done. I needed to think about things.

My mentor came out and talked to me. He told me for me to walk that means something is terribly wrong with what was going on. I was one of the best they had and they just lost me.

It was heart breaking. They were like my family, but I just couldn't do it anymore. I couldn't make this my career anymore. I had a new passion, a new dream. A new way to look at things.

They kept calling me and texting me. I just bring myself to pick up the phone. I just needed time. After a few days, I was going to call them and tell I will come back but under a few more conditions. I was on my way home from the store and I get a phone from a gym asking to come in for an interview. I did not hesitate and said yes.

That was the day my life changed for the better.

Th

career
Like

About the Creator

Michelle Hill

I'm 35 and taking each day one at a time. Writing is my passion and I'm also a huge movie buff. Music is another way I escape reality for a while. I live in VA, and I have traveled a bit. I hope to share my words with the world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.