Journal logo

My Now Busy Life

Too Little Hours In The Day

By Michelle HillPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

I just moved back home from California. That will be another story in itself. Let's just say I ended another long friendship during those eleven months.

Anyway, I have been back in Virginia since January, and I can honestly say I am so happy to be back. I took some time off from working to just decompress and focus on myself for a little while. After I collected myself. I started at a new restaurant where my best friend works and a co worker I used to work with. Gotta say it's better than the last company I worked for before I moved to California. That was when I started to come up with my life plan. The plan is still in the making and I just wish I had more hours in the day.

Started to workout again, because one, I was almost at my heaviest again. Two, I just wanted to start feeling better about myself. Three, kind of trying to impress a girl. That girl will be another post some day. So going to the gym and working seems simple enough. Then, I decided to go back to school to earn a degree. Sure no problem what so ever. Yet here's my old job calling me asking me to come back and help out.

Now, granted both jobs will help me pay for school, which is nice. Also, I do have weekends off, which again, is also nice. But then, I factor in the days I want to write and the days I go to the gym. I have to take away three days at least. Going to be honest, I don't like doing that. I like staying productive. But I don't like having to change my schedule around. Plus, I've been having weird encounters at the gym.

What I am trying to get at, is that I just wish I had at least three more hours every day. I'm sleeping okay. Getting about six to seven hours. But the nights I close at my first job, which is close to ten-thirty at night, just doesn't sit well with me. See, it's because the next morning I have to be up by at least four in the morning just to slowly wake up. I still have to decompress from a long night of getting my butt kicked making pasta dishes for customers.

I am a workaholic. I throw myself into work, I just do. It's how I function. I don't know why, it just helps. But then I get home at night and my mind just goes. It never stops. I'm at the point where I'm taking melatonin gummies just to help me sleep. As well as listening to ASMR History stories. They really do help. I've come a long way from meditations, let me tell ya.

What I'm trying to say is that yes, my time management could be better but, I'm trying. Doing the best I can. Changing my sleep schedule around and just working through what I can. So far it's okay, but I would just really love a couple more hours in the day. Just a little bit of sunlight would help. Don't get me wrong, I love that I'm staying busy. I never know how to relax.

How do you manage your time when you have a lot of things going on? Does it help to schedule everything out? Or do you just wing it and hope for the best? Do you need more time in the day? Or how about more time at night to get some extra rest? Which do you prefer?

We all have busy lives. We all need to relax at some point. But do we really want to stop and just let our minds go? Are we too scared to get lost in the quiet?

workflow
Like

About the Creator

Michelle Hill

I'm 35 and taking each day one at a time. Writing is my passion and I'm also a huge movie buff. Music is another way I escape reality for a while. I live in VA, and I have traveled a bit. I hope to share my words with the world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.