Journal logo

It Is Time...

I'm going back to do what I want to do.

By Don Anderson IIPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

In 2017, I was done with acting for a while after I did a play about Standing Rock but a year later, I had a choice to go back but I didn't do it because not only was I trying to focus more on school, I also got tired of the people I was around that was going to be in theater with me because they were always surrounded by drama and I already had enough going on in my life at the time so I didn't bother going back to acting.

After graduating from community college, I wasn't sure what I was going to do but I knew I wanted to go back to acting and I wanted to do more with my talents because I want to do more dramatic stuff but I also want to do stuff that hits and some action as well like sword fighting and hand-to-hand combat because I always get inspired to do stuff like that when I watch Keanu Reeves (John Wick: Chapter 3 - Parabellum, The Matrix) and Tom Cruise (Mission Impossible - Fallout, Collateral). Plus it also reminds me that I can do those things as long as I can put my mind to it. Of course, I'd have to work out and all as well but I can do that.

After moving in with my older brother, I obviously knew that I had to get a job at some point and about two months later, I did but when I started working, I realized I didn't want to work forever and if I did, it'd have to be something I love doing so I ended up applying for university. After, I'd stay up really late reading up on programs for theatre since I hope that doing this can point me in the right direction to where I need to go as well.

Fast forward to April of this year, I went to an event for future students and I looked into the theatre program more but I also looked into doing screenwriting as well because I write scripts and I already have a few that I'd want to be looked at so it was the perfect situation for me. After the event and meeting the theatre director, he told me that I had to film two audition videos, which would've gone better but that's an entirely different story, where I play two different characters, one comedic and one dramatic.

About two months later, I went to a meeting where it was like an interview and the theatre director told me that he was really interested in me being in the classes after seeing what I did in the videos so he told me about some of the classes that I'd be doing if I were to get accepted and after telling me what I would do while I'm in theatre, I was already accepted but I had to send an acceptance letter that required my signature. So after going through that, I knew that it was time for me to go back to acting and right when I handed that letter in with my signature on it, I honestly heard music from The Lion King when Simba was going up on Pride Rock after Rafiki told him that it's time.

I'm working a lot now but once September hits, I'm leaving the job for school because the work I'll be doing will take more of my time than work but overall, I've put my road trip to my dream on the back burner for too long so it's time for me to do what I need to. I miss acting and as much as I enjoy writing, I want to perform again too and honestly, I can't wait to get back to acting. It is time.

career
Like

About the Creator

Don Anderson II

Movies, memoirs, music lover, graduate of community college, and university

Quiet writer but I'm sure my stories from years ago are still of interest

Tips are welcomed

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.