Journal logo

It Could Get Real Cold

Football, Stocks, and Old People

By Erik DeSean BarrettPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
During one of my Walks, I gazed at the Norfolk Business District

If your world looks like mine, than you are flying high, and warm AF, despite the fact its cold as a mother-in-laws embrace. Well!! Maybe not, moms are so confusing; then again so is the weather, at least in my corner of these states united. Makes all sense, why my homie, only in my mind, Coach Mike McDaniel, of the Miami Dolphins was seen during this past Wednesday’s practice with his pants rolled up, strolling through stretching lines, while he bopped his head to rapper YG’s 2014 hit “Who Do You Love?” and wearing a shirt that read…

I wish it were colder.

I don’t know what to say to that; in some instances I don’t wish for it to get cold. I hope the dolphins head up to New York, and light a fire up there that will not only burn up the bills, but shoot the dolphins into the playoffs. But back to the McDaniel.. I keep watching this twitter video. I so a fan boy right now, borderline crushing. He’s young, in shape, masculine AF, but what about when he gets old? Hell.. What about when I get old? This train of thought lead me to a Wall Street Journal Article, entitled The Hardest Part About Getting Older: Accepting You’re Getting Older..

This article discusses the perspective of aging through the eyes of Sherry Mendelson. She begins with her experience following knee replacement surgery. I have supportive experience with this; my granny also had her knees replaced. I feel both grandma, and Madam Sherry would agree, The surgery is ok, but the rehab is brutal. Apart from that, something else I share with Madam Sherry, is the day when I am no longer able to do for myself, or pioneer myself. But I can’t worry about that, can’t focus on what will be, instead invest fully in what is..

Like making money. Because I feel if I don’t look at the world from an economic perspective, and dare I say even prepare for what could come next, I might find myself on the loosing end, of a serious amount of cash.

Just this week, Spooked investors forced a stock sell-off as worry spread that central bankers are raising interest rates in a weakening consumer market, pushing the economy toward a recession. The Federal Reserve on Wednesday hiked interest rates an additional 0.5 percentage points in an attempt to tame inflation, followed Thursday by equivalent rate hikes by the European Central Bank, the Bank of England and the central bank of Switzerland.

Our main message to investors is to be cautious. The Fed is trying to engineer a soft economic landing that in our view has a high likelihood of failing and causing a recession in 2023. said James Demmert, chief investment officer at New York wealth management firm Main Street Research.

How much of that made sense to me? Absolutely none of it. All I heard is somewhere is a dark cloud, which means brace the cash, the vacuum is comin to suck it up.

That takes me back to ol Elon; since we wanna be all up his Sphincter. Elon Musk Sold More Than $3.5 Billion Worth of Tesla Shares; that is nearly 22 million Tesla shares over a three-day period, this according to a regulatory disclosure made public Wednesday.

Tesla shares closed down 2.58% Wednesday at $156.80, the lowest level in more than two years. The company’s stock price decline of around 55% in 2022 has eclipsed that of the tech-heavy Nasdaq Composite Index, which has fallen roughly 29% year-to-date.

So lets bottom line this Train of Thought. Just live ya life, realizing no matter how bad it gets, (a) it can always get worst; and (b) there is always opportunity to overcome to cold.

Until NEXT Time

LATTERZ - edb

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Erik DeSean Barrett

Blogger👨🏾‍💻 Vlogger🎥 Podcaster🎙Life Enthusiasts!!! On mission to prove one can do what they believe despite what anyone says.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.