Journal logo

In a World…

A rant about creativity and complacency

By Jose SanchezPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
1
In a World…
Photo by Alan Labisch on Unsplash

Imagine to yourself that somewhere along the line instead of deciding that art was a business we decided that creativity mattered more. We figured out some way to make being an artist a livable career without taking away from science or architecture or anything like that. Hell, they did it in Rome right? The point I’m trying to bring to light is that sometimes I wonder what crazy amazing stories we’d have if there weren't 10 Fast and Furious movies. What if they decided 3 was enough and moved on to a new, more ingenuitive film franchise. Some things are great for a sequel. Some things should just be let die.

Before I get deep into my ramblings I want it ro be known to everyone reading that I’m not just some guy with deep rooted positions. I’ve studied film and theatre for a full decade and I have different perspectives on acting, directing, screenwriting, and other portions of the entertainment industry. On top of all of that I’m just some guy. What do I know? My opinions are mine and don’t have to be yours. I’m just conveying a what if scenario where I got my wish and being entertaining, captivating, and original meant more than seeing every major actor eventually become Batman.

The way I see it, there's only one absolutely perfect television series. Breaking Bad with stars Bryan Cranston and Aaron Paul leaves you begging for more without dragging the series too far. The characters are believable, relatable, easy to love or hate, and entertaining. There’s happy, heartwarming sequences, plenty of drama, and even a small portion of dull, introspective looks at a family life. My favorite part? They stop the story right where it deserved its end. They didn’t set it up for another season when there wasn’t a need for one. They had a story to tell and they told it. Fin.

That isn’t to say that other tv shows come close. I’ve watched shows like Peacemaker, Squid Games, Stranger Things and many more that come extremely close. It’s little things they do that veer them from the path. Peacemaker is a great example of this. There’s a character build sequence that wasn’t dragged long enough and the end result felt out of place because of it. Squid Games is a flawless show if you stop the last episode at forty two minutes and fifty seconds, but Hollywood wanted a sequel. It’s crazy to a person like me that the people in charge of the story would rather make more money than to have created something perfect. I couldn’t be the same way.

On the other spectrum there’s something that completely lack any reason to continue going that just seems to continue to develop more and more ways of taking peoples money. I mentioned The Fast and Furious saga and that’s honestly my biggest example to date. I’ve seen the first one and I was blown away by the story. I watched the second one and went “hey, that's kind of similar to the first one with better special effects. That’s cool.” I didn't watch the third one assuming it would be the second one with better special effects and was told they added some sort of new element to the car stealing and racing. Here we are at 10 and they’ve added helicopters and I don’t really think they race anymore but hey, they have The Rock in the movies now. Who doesn’t love that?

At the end of the day I can only day dream about a world where we don’t continue to beat a dead horse long after it's been time to call it a day. I fancy that within my lifetime and probably my children’s these things will continue to happen. All I know for sure is that in everything that I write, film, and produce I promise to make things as finite as they can be. If I kill a character they AREN’T coming back. If I make a rule that is concrete I won’t create a loophole. Lastly, I vow to not let the good guy always win. Sometimes it’s good to see a protagonist die. Do I have any The Death of Superman fans reading?

tv review
1

About the Creator

Jose Sanchez

Howdy! I’ve been writing for about 9 years now. Everything from plays to graphic novels to short stories to haiku’s about hating retail. Thanks for the support! Feel free to follow me on social media. Enjoy

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.