Journal logo

I write to express

not to impress

By Gail S.Published 3 years ago 4 min read
3
I write to express
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

Having my writing judged and picked apart is something I am very used to. I have written for years and there are always readers who don't like it, but for every reader who disapproves there are readers who do not. As of lately, I am questioned a lot about my stories so I thought this would be the perfect time to explain a few things.

First of all, I write to express myself. Period! Having no other outlet for expression, this is what works for me. It may not work for others but it is perfect for me. I have been writing since I was about 14 although Vocal is the only place I choose to write to. My very first story was about my son’s death and that was by far the hardest thing to write about. When Covid hit there was so much going on that it seemed to be the right time to let it all out.

My stories may very well be based on my life experiences but then again they may not. You as the reader will take from each one what you will. If my sadness makes things in your life seem better then so be it. If my joys make you joyous then that’s great. I know there are others out there with the same problems or happiness in their lives. If even one of my stories helps someone, then as a writer I have accomplished my goal.

I am often asked “is that story about me?” Maybe it is, maybe it is not. That is for you to decide. I do not add names to any of my stories for a few reasons. 1… I would never do that to anyone in my life and 2… it keeps the reader guessing. If the shoe fits, lace that bitch up and wear it. My writing is not meant to hurt feelings or bring people down. It is meant to ease my pain, unload a burden I have been carrying or to share an incredible moment or feeling.

Do I write a lot about personal experiences? Absolutely! That is my self expression. My way of getting it off my chest or just saying it in words. It alleviates some of my fears and keeps me in touch with my inner self. Some are difficult to write and some flow easily. For me, it is easier to put it into words here than to speak it out loud. Although I do not know who reads my writings for the most part, I do know a select few that I have invited to join and read my works. To those few...I am grateful for the encouragement to continue.

Some of my “darker” pieces come with the question of why I write like that. My answer to that question remains this…”because I can.” My life is definitely not rainbows and unicorns so my writing is not either. You cannot have light without dark. My dark side emerges on the bad days. When the depression is getting the best of me. I refuse to always write about happy things because my life is not always happy. I would be doing myself a great injustice to only write about the good and never include the bad.

My stories tell of love and love lost. About tragedy and sometimes horror. About lies and truths and happiness and sadness. About growing up and growing old. Funny things and serious things. A little glimpse into my thoughts. About life. Please don’t message me privately and tell me how you thought my story sucked or how I am a shitty writer because in all honesty, they are my words and my stories. I will write them as I see fit. If you don’t like them stop reading them.

A therapist once told me that writing is my best outlet. She was right. It clears my head of all the clutter and helps me think clearer. I sometimes find it difficult to walk away from my computer. At 60 years old it seems like I have so much to write about. I do try to concentrate on the happier moments in my life but some days that’s not what I write. It’s not a bad thing, it’s just what needs to be expressed.

So with all that said, keep in mind that I write to express, not impress. If my stories help someone through a difficult time, that makes me happy. If someone can relate and it helps, then mission accomplished. If they make you laugh on a bad day, GREAT! Know that I do accept honest criticism on all my works but please be kind. We could all use a little more kindness these days and ALWAYS remember...life is too short to be anything but happy.

Love always G.

career
3

About the Creator

Gail S.

I am complicated, confusing and misunderstood but I am real. Life is too short to be anything but happy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.