Journal logo

I Went Viral With 465K views and 10M Impressions!

I still don’t know what the hell I’m doing.

By Sherrell WritesPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Fuzzy picture proof that I went viral. Go Me!!!

I went viral. I wrote a story about a strange situation surrounding the singer Kelly Price’s missing persons investigation. Well, let’s take a step back. Hi, I am a writer. I write here on Medium, Vocal Media, and NewsBreak.

I saw all of the posts on here talking about writers were seeing success with NewsBreak. Apparently, I missed the wave because, by the time I signed up for NewsBreak, they weren’t paying writers a set fee for stories any longer.

That said, I have no idea what the hell I’m doing. You read that right. My one little article has gotten 10 MILLION impressions and 456 THOUSAND in page views, and I have no idea why, or even how the payment for this will work.

I went viral before I had my ten articles, and I am a little bitter about it because I don’t know if all of these views will count towards me getting paid.

I didn’t advertise this story. I don’t even know why it went THIS big. But besides not knowing if I will be paid for it, going viral was a big…let down? Well, I can’t say that. I felt like I was the shit for a cool 10 minutes and sent the above screenshot to my friends who have “real jobs” and think that I surf Facebook all day.

But, after those 15 minutes of glory, I still feel like an imposter. I didn’t advertise this story. I didn’t share it on social media. I didn’t share it with friends. I don’t know why it got this big.

That’s not even the main reason that I am so upset. NewsBreak has some pretty…vile…readers. They left the most disgusting comments. I witnessed everything from commenters calling Kelly Price (the singer who the story is about) fat and deserving of her struggles, to criticizing things about the article that I didn’t even say or imply.

I am used to trolls, but not at this level. I was a 911 operator for 6.5 looonnggg years. You really can’t hurt my feelings. But when people attack others for no reason, even a celebrity, it boils my blood. I just don't understand these readers. They are incredibly cruel and mean spirited for no reason.

I decided, for the sake of my peace, to not engage. I just told my fiancé that if I try to read the comments on that platform ever again, he is to tackle me and take my computer. I went viral, but I don’t know how the platform works. They are not transparent about what they pay. The only thing I do know is that as of this morning, I am monetized. I’ll see next month what that means financially.

I am going to keep you all posted on my experience with that platform — as much as I can being it’s against rules to disclose what I get paid. Until then, keep going. I am still learning, growing, and writing every day. I am not where I want to be, but I am getting there.

And that is the takeaway that I want you all to have here. Some of the people that have a one-off good month, or a few viral stories don’t know what the hell they are doing either. I just happen to let you know that. Stop thinking you are alone in your confusion. I assure you, you’re not!

Welp, that’s all. I went viral and I don’t know what the hell I am doing, but I am going to write anyway until I figure this out. Happy writing and thank you again for reading my rant.

Did you enjoy this story? You should sign up for Medium. There are amazing writers here, and you don’t have to deal with ads like other platforms. Sign up here. You won’t regret it.

career
1

About the Creator

Sherrell Writes

I am a new freelancer who is documenting her journey for others that feel like they have no idea what they're doing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.