Journal logo

I Am What Is Missing

My place is with the animals

By KJ AartilaPublished 9 days ago Updated 9 days ago 3 min read
5
I Am What Is Missing
Photo by Tanya Trofymchuk on Unsplash

I Am What Is Missing

Life often begins with childhood dreams, then things often change with adulthood. We forget those beginnings – how often do we find our way back to something we didn’t know was missing?

I enjoy being in the presence of animals. All animals, even though I am mainly associated with horses, and they may not revel in mine. I cherish the quiet acceptance either way.

Ever since I was a kid, with animals is where I preferred to be. One of my earliest “pets” was a white chicken in my Grandma’s coop I named Three Toes (because the bird had lost a couple). I would hang out with her in the coop. We were friends.

When I got a little bit older, I used to stay on the family farm of my aunt and uncle, where his mom also lived. I called her Grandma Emma, but she wasn’t really my grandma. She had given birth to thirteen boys and enjoyed having a little girl around. Anyway, I would go down to the dairy barn with my uncle to be around the milk cows. My uncle offered me a pinch of snuff in that barn. I declined.

I was also fascinated by the wild horse they adopted. She refused to be tamed, so it didn’t end well for her. I was sad. They also had other horses and dogs. They had a pony I often rode. I loved it there. It always felt peaceful to me.

My parents bought me a horse when I was eight. They didn’t know much about horses, but my grandparents offered to keep him in their cow pasture, along with my Grandma’s horse and pony. This arrangement worked out fine until my Grandpa decided to turn a bull loose with the cows. I went out to the pasture one day to get my horse, when I discovered the bull. I hightailed it back over the gate and out of the enclosure, without my horse. I don’t know which was pounding faster – my little legs or my little heart! We found a new place to keep my horse soon after.

I grew up, surrounded by animals, mainly horses. I spent my youth learning about horses and being around horses. I even went to college for formal training in handling horses. That’s where it all fell apart. It took me a long time to figure that out, though. After spending much of my childhood working it out on my own, I spent many years engrossed in doing it “right,” excited to be a part of the “community.” There were many opinions about what was correct. And so I lost my confidence. Slowly, though. Frustration and sadness and jealousy took over peacefulness.

Sure, I have ribbons and got to do some cool things in the horse-world, but I never achieved fame or fortune, like in my dreams.

After decades of aspiring to be recognized and appreciated for my horsemanship prowess, I changed my approach from a self-centered desire to be accepted and glorified, to a desire to listen to the animals first. They have the answers I’m searching for. They always have. I just couldn’t hear them over the loud opinions of the “experts.”

My life and goals are different now. I aspire to be at peace again.

*****************************************************

Thank you for reading!

Have you ever found yourself caught up in your own aspirations? Did you find your way back to authenticity? Please share in the comments below. What’s your story?

humanity
5

About the Creator

KJ Aartila

A writer of words in northern WI with a small family and a large menagerie.

My Substack

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • C. Rommial Butler9 days ago

    Well-wrought! I love horses, though I only ever admire them from a distance. There's a sense of majesty to them that is uniquely their own, and your own spirit reflects that! It's an interesting struggle for the visionary or unique individual to live among the masses. Perhaps that's one reason I like horses so much. They can run in packs, but they all seem to maintain their unique personalities respective of one another. Has that been your experience or am I just projecting?

  • Shirley Belk9 days ago

    I love how you ask your audience great questions. I'm going to have to look back on almost seventy years to reflect on any aspirations I had. I'll get back to you. I do love the fact that you learned the importance of listening to animals and wanting peace in your life. Those things make me happy, too.

  • Absolutely brilliant

  • "They have the answers I’m searching for. They always have. I just couldn’t hear them over the loud opinions of the “experts.”' That made me smile. I'm so happy for you. I don't have a story of my own but I enjoyed reading yours!

  • Cathy holmes9 days ago

    This is heartwarming. I like that you came to the conclusion about "listening" to the animals. Beautiful story.

  • Powerfully written KJ! It is awesome that you're finding your way back to that peace!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.