Journal logo

I Am Not Jobless Anymore!

Forever I shall be grateful

By eiidakhaleedaPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

No word that can explain the turmoil I feel inside me. Since March 2020, I am jobless, and having a deadly pandemic is not helping at all.

My job-hunting is temporarily halted, luckily I have my freelance job. Although it is not much however it helps me a lot while I am in need.

Every day, I wake up early and applied for job hunting, hoping to get back on my feet. At the same time, I join a free online course to improve myself in anywhere that I am lacking.

I took a language course, a marketing course, a WordPress course, and other self-improvement courses that will benefit me. I want to occupy myself from the bitter truth which is I am jobless.

Although I am smiling, inside I am worried, sad, and feel dejected. Rejection after rejection, makes me question myself. Am I good enough? Why me? Why can't I secure any job? I have all the experience. Where could I possibly go wrong? What should I do? I don't want to become a burden to anyone. Oh god, help me!

But, I keep a happy face in front of my loved one. This is my problem, I do not want to worry them more with my insecurities. I put my confidence face whenever I went for an interview but inside, I want to cower away and hide.

I dreaded the question, " Why happened with your last job? Why did they let you go". It is hard for me to explain to them the situation. Because honestly, I love my job. I love writing and I have a passion for what I do and I want to share it with the world.

And of course, there is one interview that shaken me when the interviewer keeps pressuring me as to why I quit my steady job for a contract job. I explain and explain and explain but they can't seem to accept my answer. I had to answer that question three times before they move on with another question. Is this often happen in an interview?

But yeah, it makes me wonder if I am making a grave mistake. However, I have a solid personal reason as to why I make that decision, at least that is what I've told myself.

For a while, I keep searching for a job. I join a lot of things as well and Alhamdulillah, after a while my prayers have been answered. I managed to secure two promising interviews with two different companies. I am interested in both but can only choose the one that gives me a better offer.

After 6 months of uncertainty, I finally secured a job. And it is been good so far. It is different than what I used to and I am still learning every day. Of course, I make some mistake and there is a lot of new things that I learn every day but I am grateful for this.

I am no longer jobless. When I first get the call, I was overwhelmed, shock but also relieve and scared. Did I finally manage to get a job? Can I do this? This is completely different than what I am used to. Can I do a good job? Am I doing the right decision?

But, of course, I take it as a challenge and willing to learn. After all, I did took all those courses to improve myself right? What is the better way to apply what I've learned so far into my work?

There is still a long way to go. And I pray every day that everything will be smooth. I know where I am lacking and trying to be better at it. Most importantly, I am no longer jobless!

humanity
Like

About the Creator

eiidakhaleeda

A writer I Love Travelling I Book-Lover I Kpop-lover

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.