Journal logo

How to Start Freelancing During COVID Crisis In 5 Easy Steps

Quick Guide to Freelancing

By Hadiqa KhurshidPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
1
How to Start Freelancing During COVID Crisis In 5 Easy Steps
Photo by Glenn Carstens-Peters on Unsplash

After the outbreak of the Corona Virus, many people have lost their jobs. Companies like Nike, Star bucks, Channel have closed their stores. They cannot bear expenses for production. Many companies stated that they lost their ten years created an economic level in six weeks.

Now, if you have lost your job during this pandemic. You can explore some other opportunities. Closing of a door takes your feet to knock another door.

I mean you can do freelancing, but how to take the first step? Right

You do not need any money if you want to start your freelancing career.

Look, when I started freelancing, I do not know the ABC of freelancing. I even do not know what services I can provide or where I can gather my first client. Things were damn tricky, but I know I have to do something to earn some pennies.

Back in 2016, when I took the initiative of freelancing, no one told me such things. I have figure out where to start from the sea of information. I have experienced the frustration and sometimes depression. I spend countless hours searching for the correct path.

Let me break down the entire process of freelancing in five steps:

Recognize Your One Core Skill:

Do you remember the idiom, "Jack of all trades, master of none.” When you start your freelancing career, recognize one of your significant skill. If you are going to take many things together, you can never be an expert.

Earlier, I was into many things. I did a postgraduation in Computer Science. I can do website graphic designing, website development, and know about SEO as well. But I choose to be a writer because I am good at expressing emotions and interested to learn more.

Do not forget this, "First learn then earn."

If you do not have any skill, you can learn it online on YouTube.

Google Digital Garage is offering incredible courses to learn for free. You have to push yourself to learn. Remember, no one can change your situation if you are not willing to do.

You can learn SEO, Digital Marketing, WordPress website development. It is all dependent upon your interest. Pick up a thing and devote yourself to learning.

Create a Portfolio:

If you do not have a portfolio to highlight your skill, you are not able to convince your client. Let me explain more if you are doing content writing. It is essential to have your website where you can interact with clients. You can write blogs of your specific niche.

At this point, I want to say that do not be an all-rounder. Display your skills related to one thing. Make your reputation reliable and be good at what you do. You can attract your clients with testimonials.

You can create your portfolio by doing some free work for a company, or for your friend. Ask them to write testimonials for you. The client will not believe in your words. They need some real-time proof.

Finding First Client:

If you are an expert in your niche, still you have to put extra effort into finding the first client. You can find some paying clients by looking in your network or some local groups on Facebook. Your first client comes from a friend's referral.

When I started, I waited for a month. Your first client teaches you how to work to get some perfection. Do not forget to ask your client for a testimonial and referral. Testimonials help to increase online transparency.

Earlier, when I started freelancing things, I made a huge mistake to not to ask my client for testimonial and referral. I ran out of clients and started a struggle again to find potential clients.

Checkout Job Boards:

Suppose you are not able to find clients in local groups—checkout jobs board on different websites. You can check ProBlogger.com. You can gather half time and full-time freelance jobs.

At first, you have to work on pretty low rates. You can increase your rates with experience. You can look at other websites that include Fiverr, Upwork, and Craigslist.

Plan Your Growth:

Enjoy your little achievement, but always look at your progress. Learn new things and increase your skills. Digital trends change with time. It is vital to learn new strategies to increase your freelancing career.

If you are doing content writing, try to learn to Copywriting. Copywriting is high paying, and you can earn a lot. On the same panel, try to learn some graphical software to display your skills. You can learn a graphical software CANVA to attract your clients by creating posters.

Try to create different packages, and it will help you to work with various industries. Schedule a marketing plan and increase your branding with the help of social media. You can create your business profile or pages on Instagram/Facebook.

Working with an old client is far more accessible as compared to working with new clients. Try to provide a free service and improve your communication to meet their demands. Complimentary services can help you to beat the competition.

I hope my words will help you to take the initiative.

career
1

About the Creator

Hadiqa Khurshid

Computer Science Scholar — Blog Content Expert and Social Media Copywriter

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.